Artistic Avenger

I need TEA!

13 Comments

This week at Create with Connie and Mary, we’ve got a great sketch challenge for you! I wasn’t sure what to do at first but once I got an idea, it was all systems go!

The base of this card is Old Olive and I used the Vintage Wallpaper embossing folder on the very bottom. I then added some Very Vanilla to top the top of the base.

Across the lower middle area, I added a strip of Cajun Craze and over it some Crochet Lace trim.

For the side panel on the right, I added a piece of Baja Breeze cardstock which I punched with the Scallop Trim Border punch then I layered some Cajun Craze cardstock and a piece of Jolly Holiday designer series paper. I added a wee bit of this designer paper in the upper left corner and added a crochet lace bow with a great Baja Breeze button.

Now, for my favourite part! The tea bag!

What I did was cut a small rectangle of Very Vanilla. I then cut out a piece of Vellum paper a bit bigger. I wrapped it around the cardstock and adhered on the back. I then cut the tag/bag corners. I put on a a half circle of Cajun Craze and stapled on a tag. On the inside of the tea bag, I added some Early Espresso and Soft Suede little hearts that are left over from the Pinking Hearts border punch. Waste not, want not!

To finish off, I added a sentiment from Morning cup with a small watercoloured teacup adhered with a dimensional.

Now its your turn! Head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and give this sketch a try!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Very Vanilla, Baja Breeze, Cajun Craze, Old Olive, Vellum.

Ink: Jet Black StazOn, Old Olive, Baja Breeze, Cajun Craze.

Stamps: Morning Cup.

Accessories: Big Shot, Vintage Wallpaper embossing folder, linen thread, medium jewelry tag punch, scallop trim border punch, crochet lace trim, Candy Cane buttons, aquapainter.

13 thoughts on “I need TEA!

  1. The faux tea bag is BRILLIANT! Love, love, love it! šŸ™‚

  2. I just love how you always seem to come up with the “unexpected”! And you did fool me with that tea bag! I love it!!!

  3. This is adorable, Carrie! Love your creative ideas!

  4. Wow, the tea bag is a fab touch!! Love it!

  5. Carrie-

    Thanks for all the inspiration you share on your blog. I love your “tea bag”- it’s a fabulous element to this card and a great idea to make when using this set. TFS!

  6. Carrie, thank you for the great idea of using the leftover hearts for a tea bag. I knew someone would come up with a use for them, they’re just too cute to throw out!Always loving your creations, thank you for sharing with us.

  7. What an adorable card! Looks like real tea in that bag! How clever! Thanks for playing the Create with Connie & Mary Challenge!

  8. This is so super clever, Carrie – I love the tea bag and I thought it was a real one as well in the first pic! Fabulous idea.

  9. Absolutely amazingly creative! Wow!

  10. Your work is so creative and always seems to have “that special touch” . Love the vellum bag. Thanks so much for sharing your talent.

  11. Pingback: Crochet Tea Bag

  12. What a cute idea with the tea bag! I love the little tags you added also. Ingenious!

  13. lovely idea with the tea bag just lovely lovely lovely!! at first I thought that maybe it was an actual tea bag, but the close up shows that it is something that you made yourself!! how wonderful, thanks so much for sharing this with us!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

