Artistic Avenger

Winged Things

10 Comments

I love the fall and I love all the colours associated with fall. So, when I saw the latest ColourQ Challenge – I was so super excited! I love these colours so I thought it would be easy for me. Not so. I think I put little swatches of all the colours together and sat for quite some time before figuring out what I wanted to do!

Also, I needed a sketch because my brain just wouldn’t work so I used this week’s Mojo Monday sketch and my design starting point.

Okay, here we go!

The base is Crumb Cake and I’ve sponged the outer edges with Early Espresso. On the left is a panel of Always Artichoke which was stamped with the Woodgrain background in Early Espresso and then sponged.

I added a ruffle of Deck the Halls fabric and tied over the seam with some 1/4″ Early Espresso Grosgrain.

For the central panel, I used a piece of Cajun Craze and I textured it with a backgrounds 1 texture plate. I used my spiral edge punch to mimic the stitching in the sketch piece.

In the centre of this tag like piece, I added an Early Espresso circle which I cut from the Circles #2 die. I then stamped the little tree from Trendy Trees on some scrap Whisper White cardstock. I used the Crumb Cake ink and then the Cajun Craze and Always Artichoke markers to have various leaf colours and Early Espresso for the trunk. I punched this out with the 1 3/4″ circle punch.

I cut out some butterflies from the Beautiful Wings Embosslit in So Saffron and added them to look like they are flying away from the tree.

Lastly, I added the sentiment which is from Hope Happens. It was stamped with Early Espresso on Crumb Cake. I added a Vintage Trinket to to the far right and a little knot of linen thread on it. To the bottom of that, in hopes of tying in the So Saffron again, I added a side of a scallop square punch.

Thank you so much for stopping by and for your continued support on my blog! Much appreciated!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Early Espresso, Crumb Cake, Cajun Craze, Always Artichoke, Whisper White.

Ink: Early Espresso, Crumb Cake, Cajun Craze & Always Artichoke Stampin’ Write Markers.

Stamps: Hope Happens, Trendy Trees, Woodgrain.

Accessories: 1/4″ Early Espresso grosgrain, Circles #2 die, 1 3/4″ Circle punch, Spiral edge punch, Vintage trinkets, linen thread, Backgrounds 1 Texture Plates, Big Shot, Deck the Halls Designer Fabric, Beautiful Wings Embosslit

10 thoughts on “Winged Things

  1. This is so pretty. I just love all the details of this card. Thank you for sharing.

  2. This is beautiful Carrie! Your use of colors is wonderful and I love the layout. thanks for playing the ColourQ challenge this week!

  3. This is just gorgeous! Love the fabric and the adorable butterflies.

  4. I so like how your card turned out with those great colors but I just LOVE those little butterflies, what a cute accent.

  5. Another beautiful card, gorgeous layout and colours. I love the ruffled fabric, just perfect 🙂

  6. this is gorgeous, Carrie!

  7. Oh, I just LOVE this! Every little detail is perfect, including those darling butterflies and the little scalloped trim under the sentiment. Thanks for sharing this with us at the ColourQ!

  8. Girl – your card is just brilliant!!! I just love seeing your creations, thanks so much for playing with the colourQ!

  9. Congratulations on being the ColorQ Queen this week! What a deserving entry and I love that it’s all SU!

  10. Sweet, sweet card Carrie. Love your design. 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

