Artistic Avenger

Life’s a Beach

18 Comments

I am really excited to announce that I have joined a new design team – The Inkspirations Design Team! And today is the launch of the new challenge blog, Inkspirations Challenges. Make sure you head on over to see what’s in store and who is on this super fabulous design team!

Today’s card is based on the sketch challenge of this week:

I started with a Crumb Cake base and kept with the colours in the Elegant Soiree Designer Series paper. The upper panel is Soft Suede which I layered with some Baja Breeze Elegant Soiree DSP and added a few basic pearls. The vertical panel is again Soft Suede and I layered it with some of the DSP that looks kinda like scales or shells. Over that I tied on some 5/8″ Twill Tape onto which I tied a super fun tag.

The tag is Soft Suede and I layered it with Very Vanilla. On it I stamped the shell from Nature’s Nest. I then stamped it again on some scrap Very Vanilla cardstock and cut it out. I watercoloured it in with coordinating colours of ink and then accordian folded it to give it a shell appearance. I also painted some Pearl Smooch Accent Ink for some extra shimmer and added a basic pearl.

I used a Vintage Trinket and some linen thread to tie it all on and then again I used the Trinkets to pin on a saying, “thank you” from Fresh Cuts.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this card and I urge you to head on over to the Inkspirations Challenges blog and play along! Now you can also head on over to see what the rest of the DT is up to…..

Cindy
Kirsty
Makeesha
Renée
Brandi
Carrie
Helen
Ilina
Lee-Anne
Marisa

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Crumb Cake, Soft Suede, Very Vanilla.

Ink: Jet Black StazOn, Soft Suede, Crumb Cake, Baja Breeze.

Stamps: Fresh Cuts, Nature’s Nest.

Accessories: Elegant Soiree DSP, Vintage Trinkets, Basic Pearls, Linen Thread, 1 1/4″ circle punch, twill tape.

18 thoughts on “Life’s a Beach

  1. This is really beautiful, Carrie. I love all the little details, and particularly like the way the shell is placed straight, on the angled tag. Congratulations on joining Makeesha’s Design Team!

  2. Great card Carrie! Love your colour, paper & embellie choices & that shell looks awesome.

  3. Absolutely LOVE this card! I am always on the look out for beachy themed card ideas and yours is beautiful..the colors, the layout, everything! TFS!

  4. Totally gorgeous, Carrie! Love the beachy theme and your fab details!

  5. This is truly beautiful, Carrie! I’m super stoked to be on the team with you and am looking forward to seeing all of your papery goodies every week!

    Hugs,
    Brandi

  6. Hi Carrie-

    I absolutely love this card. Great colour combo, loads of special details: a treasure!

  7. Love this card, Carrie! Makes me want to go to the beach. Fabulous colour combination and subtle DPs. The seashell is fabulous. You rocked this sketch 🙂 Looking forward to working along side you 🙂

  8. Very nice Carrie!Say hi to all the gals .I miss you all and the meetings 😦

  9. Gorgeous colors! The shell is fantastic!

  10. What a pretty card, Carrie! The colors are perfect for a “beach” card.

  11. Such a gorgeous card Carrie, I love the colours and love the beachy theme. You did such an amazing job with the sketch, I love all the little extras, the twine, the twill ribbon and the safety pin. Awesome card! I’m looking forward to working with you, can’t wait to see what you come up with next week.
    Love Lee-Anne

  12. LOVE this beachy sun dipped creation Carrie, and all your added detail like the pinned tag, just gorgeous! Thanks so much for your inspiration this week! Keesh x

  13. Gorgeous card, Carrie! That little seashell is soooo pretty! Big congrats on the Inkspirations DT spot–no surprise, your work is fantastic! Look forward to it everyday! {hugs}

  14. What a way to start out with a bang! This card is gorgeous! Love the papers you selected, they are the perfect complement to the seashell image. Which looks great, popped up and accented with a pearl like that!

    I’m so glad to have you join the Inkspirations DT. I’m very excited about seeing what you’ll come up with each week. You know I was already a fan of your work!

    Looking forward to seeing more! Have a fab weekend!
    Cindy

  15. Gorgeous Carrie! Love the beachy theme! Very clever with the scallop paper, they do look like stacked shells! I also want to welcome you to the DT and I am very excited to be working along side of you!
    Kirsty

  16. i just love this card. everything about it. the balance is wonderful. the muted colors make it not overly busy. you are good, baby!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

