Artistic Avenger

I (heart) Nature

7 Comments

This week at Create with Connie and Mary, there is an AWESOME sketch challenge. At first I was a little intimidated but after playing for a couple of minutes, I saw how awesome it was and how many different things you can do with it!

I started by being inspired by the colours in the Play Date Designer Series Paper. The base is Chocolate Chip and as you can see I used a layer of the DSP to the left which is layered on Old Olive.

Next, for the central panel, I stamped the flower from Hello Again on Whisper White cardstock using my Real Red, Old Olive and So Saffron Stampin’ Write markers. I layered this on some Old Olive, tore a corner and added a big stitch of linen thread.

I then added a punched, paper pierced and sponged piece of Old Olive to emulate grass and then a little So Saffron flag with I (heart) Nature stamped from the So Green stamp set.

Lastly, up top, I added three large Chocolate Chip brads which are backed with coordinating 1/2″ circles.

Head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and try your hand at the sketch!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Old Olive, Whisper White, Chocolate Chip, So Saffron, Tempting Turquoise, Real Red.

Ink: So Saffron, Real Red and Old Olive Stampin’ Write markers, Chocolate Chip, Old Olive.

Stamps: Hello Again, So Green.

Accessories: Large Chocolate Chip brads, 1/2″ circle punch, Play Date DSP, linen thread, scallop border punch, paper piercer, mat pack.

7 thoughts on “I (heart) Nature

  1. I love how you used the 1/2″ circles to back the brads! Brilliant!
    You are so great with little details that add so much!

  2. Great card! I love how you backed the brads with circles of colored cardstock! Great idea!!

  3. I really like this card. The “grass” looks so real!
    Cynthia

  4. Your designs are always so fresh and funky. Love your style – it always makes me smile!

  5. I love how you created the little “grasses” on your card. The card is adorable!

  6. This is SO cute! I love the details of the grass and the little greeting! Great job with the sketch!

  7. Perfect paper and stamps pairing!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

