Artistic Avenger

For a Kind Friend

7 Comments

I  have a friend who loves to read so I thought I’d make a fun card that incorporates a special bookmark.

The inspiration for this card came from two places: Mojo Monday sketch #163 and the Inkspirations Colour Challenge #46.

The base for this card is Baja Breeze and I’ve layered it with Poppy Parade and then So Saffron. I used the Finial Press embossing folder to emboss all but the top of the So Saffron layer. I then tied on some Poppy Parade ribbon around the seam.

I used the clearlit to cut out three scalloped rectangles in Poppy Parade and layered them to make a tall rectangle. I then layered on some Baja Breeze and used some silver brads to tack on a vellum cardstock pocket.

For the bookmark, I cut a tall and skinny piece of So Saffron and layered it with Very Vanilla. I stamped a stem and flower from Awash with Flowers and coloured it in. I stamped the flower again and watercoloured it, cut it out and added it on with dimensionals.

To finish it all off, I added three pieces of the middle sized flower from the Boho Blossoms punch and some basic rhinestones in the centre of each.

I really enjoyed this colour combo – give it a try!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Very Vanilla, Poppy Parade, Baja Breeze, So Saffron, Vellum cardstock.

Ink: Jet Black StazOn, Pear Pizzazz, Poppy Parade, Baja Breeze.

Stamps: Baroque Motifs, Awash with Flowers.

Accessories: Big Shot, Finial Press embossing folder, Poppy Parade ribbon, silver brads, basic rhinestones, Boho Blossoms Punch.

7 thoughts on “For a Kind Friend

  1. Super pretty and wonderfully clever! Love the color combo with this stamp set and your vellum pocket. Nicely done!

  2. Cute Card! Love the bookmark!

  3. Oh, this is just darling! Love the pocket/bookmark! So fabulous. Thanks for playing Mojo Monday!

  4. I love the color combo and the dimensional flower on the bookmark!

  5. Beautiful! Love the bookmark idea!

  6. This is so clever, Carrie – I love it! What a wonderful, happy, bright gift for a friend.

  7. Congrats on your Mojo win! I love the vellum pocket and the three flowers on the edge of the card!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

