Artistic Avenger

Sew Great

9 Comments

This week on Create with Connie and Mary, they’ve got an awesome inspiration challenge. Honestly, these are the ones I find the trickiest! The inspiration piece is a great cake – so pretty and so yummy looking!

For my card, I decided that it would be really “like-me” to go holiday with this combination so I tried really hard not to!

The base is Cherry Cobbler and I used my Holiday Windows Movers & Shapers to cut out a bunch of the interesting tag piece. I then adhered them on the card base – boy does this give great texture!

Next, I knew I wanted to use the sewing machine from Puns from the Past so I embossed it with Black Embossing powder on Whisper White cardstock and then watercoloured in the inside bits with Baja Breeze, Basic Gray and Cherry Cobbler. I then spritzed it all with some Log Cabin Smooch Spritz. I adhered it onto some Baja Breeze cardstock and added a couple of Vintage Trinkets.

Behind that piece, I added a bit of Deck the Halls Designer Fabric. I took some linen thread and sewed a tiny “X” and then crumpled it up.

To finish it up and in keeping with the sewing theme, I added a needle threaded with some Linen Thread to the upper left corner of the stamped piece.

I can’t wait to see what you all come up with for this challenge so head on over to Create with Connie and Mary to see what the rest of the Design Team has come up with!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Cherry Cobbler, Whisper White, Baja Breeze.

Ink: Versamark.

Stamps: Puns from the Past.

Accessories: Big Shot, Movers & Shapers Holiday Windows, Black Embossing Powder, Heat Tool, Linen Thread, Deck the Halls Designer Fabric, Log Cabin Smooch Spritz, Scallop edge punch, paper piercer, mat pack, Vintage Trinkets.

9 thoughts on “Sew Great

  1. Oh Carrie, I ADORE this! I’ve been wanting to try the shaped background and it looks so rich in Cherry Cobbler. As usual, your details are exquisite and the piece of fabric sensational. You continue to astound us with your creativity. Just GORGEOUS!

  2. This is sew cute! πŸ™‚ I love it! I have been wanting to try this background idea for a while but haven’t found the “right” card to try it out on. Thanks for the inspiration!!

  3. This card is so creative! From the background to the fabric (love that threaded needle!) to the image and embossing … so neat! πŸ™‚

  4. What an awesome card, Carrie! I love the background, the fabric…well…just everything!

  5. Carrie–
    So glad you played along! I love this card and stamp set! What a great way to use the fabric along with a vintage sewing machine. πŸ™‚ Nice work!

    Amy

  6. The textures are fabulous. You are always full of such fabulous ideas! Thanks for playing with us at SUO Challenges!

  7. Combining the fabric with this stamped image – so clever! I’m having one of those “why didn’t I think of that” moment… πŸ˜‰

    Cindy

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

