Artistic Avenger

A Blue (and brown) Christmas

6 Comments

Today’s post is brought to you by the colour blue. Yep – I like blue. I don’t use it very often but I like it. So, I decided I’d extend myself and use a couple of different shades on one holiday card and here it is. This is a card I’d use for a beginner class or a Stamp-A-Stack. As I was surfing around after I posted this, I see that the Paper Players sketch is almost the same as this! It is such a great layout, fun and easy to use. And, the Just Add Ink challenge is to add blue – and to recognize a very worth cause. Check it out here!

The base is Baja Breeze and I’ve made the central panel with Night of Navy and then layered with a piece of Elegant Soiree Designer series paper.

I figured it would be easy to just use Vanilla or White so I opted to be “daring” and use Early Espresso.

I first used the Holiday Windows Movers & Shapers and cut out the tag piece in Night of Navy. I then layered over it with a snowflake in Early Espresso cut with the Snowflakes Sizzlet. Over that I layered two Very Vanilla circles on which I stamped sentiments from the Delightful Decorations stamp set.

I added two Very Vanilla Modern Labels in behind, punched two holes in them and tied on some 1/8″ Early Espresso taffeta to finish it all off.

Yes, I will say this is not a typical holiday card colour combination but I really like the look of it. Now, adding some Cajun Craze would sure make this a great masculine card, wouldn’t it?

Products used to make this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Baja Breeze, Night of Navy, Very Vanilla, Early Espresso.

Ink: Baja Breeze, Night of Navy.

Stamps: Delightful Decorations.

Accessories: Big Shot, Snowflakes Sizzlets, Modern Label Punch, Holiday Windows Movers & Shapers, 3/4″ Circle Punch, 1/2″ Circle punch, 1/8″ Early Espresso Grosgrain, Elegant Soiree DSP

6 thoughts on “A Blue (and brown) Christmas

  1. Very unique use of color—and makes a great impact!!! Thanks for playing again! 😀

  2. Hi Carrie,
    Wowza! This is one cool card and I LOVE the way you interpreted the sketch! The blues and the espresso look perfect together. This would also qualify for the Just Add Ink Challenge…:D
    Thanks for playing with the Players this week!
    Smiles,
    Lesley

  3. Divine! The narrow taffeta is the perfect touch on this card. Love it, Carrie!

  4. LOVE your blog header! Cool card! I’m kinda liking blue for Christmas this year! LOVE the expresso snowflake!

  5. Hey Carrie! I love this! So elegant and stylish. Early Espresso looks fabulous with your blues too! Thanks for playing at Just Add Ink and supporting Anxiety and Depression Awareness Month.

  6. I love the touch of brown! Perfect! Thanks for joining The Paper Players this week!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

