Artistic Avenger

Monkey Magic

6 Comments

I have to be honest, I am not a fan of the Sock Monkey stamp set. I have it. I don’t use it. But after this card, I may be inspired to use it more.

I first started with the inspiration of the Curtain Call Colour Challenge (Act 51) – Marina Mist, Crumb Cake, So Saffron and Basic Black.

The base of this card is So Saffron and I layered it with Basic Black and some textured (with Perfect Polka Dots folder) Crumb Cake cardstock.

I used some of the Neutrals Designer Paper to paper piece the Sock Monkey and then I used my Marina Mist ink to watercolour the extra bits on the monkey. I then masked the flower and stamped it over the monkey’s hand. I stamped the flower on some scrap cardstock, coloured it in and adhered with a dimensional. I then added a Basic Rhinestone to the centre.

To finish off, I added a strip of Playdate Designer paper, a strip that was punched with the Dotted Scallop Ribbon border punch and some 5/8″ Marina Mist Grosgrain. To the centre of the bow, I added a little button from the Neutrals buttons tied on with some Linen Thread.

The sentiment, again from Sock Monkey, was stamped on the same designer paper as the paper used on the monkey and I turned it in the other direction. I added it onto the card in the centre of a piece from the Styled Silver HodgePodge Hardware.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you like it!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Crumb Cake, Marina Mist, Confetti White, Basic Black.

Ink: Jet Black StazOn, Marina Mist, So Saffron, Crumb Cake, So Saffron.

Stamps: Sock Monkey.

Accessories: Big Shot, Perfect Polka Dots Folder, Styled Silver HodgePodge Hardware, 1″ circle punch, 5/8″ Marina Mist grosgrain, Dotted Scallop Ribbon Punch, Basic Rhinestones, Playdate Designer Paper,  Neutrals Designer Paper, Neutrals Buttons, Linen Thread

6 thoughts on “Monkey Magic

  1. ADORABLE. LOVE THE COLORS AND PATTERNS BEAUTIFUL.

  2. You always say that about that stamp set and then create something that is adorable!

  3. I have to admit, I’m not usually a fan of sock monkey either but…of course you’ve made him rock! 🙂

  4. This is absolutely adorable! I just love your design. Thanks for joining us at the Curtain Call this week!

  5. so super cute, Carrie! thanks for playing the Curtain Call!

  6. Such a cute card Carrie. Love that image. Great use of the colors. Congrats on Being in the Top 5 at Curtain Call. :o)

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

