Artistic Avenger

Birthday Basics

9 Comments

I was determined not to make a holiday card again today – so I decided to work on a birthday card for a friend that I needed to have ready this week. I’d had the colour combination picked – Perfect Plum, Baja Breeze, Basic Gray and Sahara Sand.

For the layout, I needed some inspiration so I headed on over to Stamping 411 and decided to use their awesome sketch this week. It is just so versatile!

The base is Sahara Sand and I layered the front with Perfect Plum and then Basic Gray. To the left, I added some Basic Gray designer paper. I also sponged the edges of it for a little more depth.

Across the seam, I added a strip of Perfect Plum cardstock and two very narrow strips of Baja Breeze.

For the central panel, I used Confetti White cardstock and stamped images from Flower Fancy in Jet Black StazOn. I watercoloured them with Perfect Plum and Basic Gray. I added some Dazzling Diamonds to the centres also.

I then stamped a few of the little flowers on some scrap cardstock and cut them out. I added Basic Rhinestones to the centres and adhered them with dimensionals.

The saying is from On Your Birthday and is sponged with Baja Breeze.

I’m really please with how this came out and I’m so happy you stopped by!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Perfect Plum, Basic Gray, Sahara Sand, Baja Breeze, Confetti White.

Ink: Perfect Plum, Basic Gray, Sahara Sand, Baja Breeze, Jet Black StazOn.

Stamps: On Your Birthday, Flower Fancy.

Accessories: Basic Gray Designer paper, Aquapainter, Basic Rhinestones, Dazzling Diamonds, 2-way glue pen, Stampin’ Sponges, Paper piercer, mat pack.

9 thoughts on “Birthday Basics

  1. You are amazing Carrie…..I so enjoy all of your work.

  2. The subtle colors are beautiful, but I especially love the way you colored the flowers to achieve such a soft look!

  3. Love your colors!!!! They are soft and serene!

  4. Love the flowers…I’ve been missing them, too! Your card is lovely!

  5. Love the colors you choose, Carrie! Great job with the sketch this week! Thanks so much for playing along with the Stamping 411 Operators! Keep up the great work — Happy Stamping! blessings, Gretchen

  6. Absolutely awesome! I love your use of color and your overall composition. I’m starting to get tired of Holiday cards too.. 😀

  7. Love the total look of your card. The Basic Gray can be overpowering, but with your card it’s just beautiful!

  8. Lovely card! I like the muted tones and your take on the layout.

  9. I love the card! Beautiful job with colors and watercoloring. l like how you did the sentiment. Great job.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

