Artistic Avenger

Feeling Green

10 Comments

This week, Create with Connie and Mary have a great sketch challenge for you! I strayed a wee bit but tried really hard to stay as true as possible!

I love the Make a Monster stamp set and decided that I wanted this card to be mostly green – so why not make a sick monster?

The base for this card is Pear Pizzaz and I’ve layered it with some Old Olive cardstock which I ran through my Big Shot with a Texture plate. I then sponged it to add some extra dimension.

Over that layer, I added an Always Artichoke Scallop Square cut from my Big shot and I tilted it a wee bit ’cause I thought it was fun. Because this is not a square card, I cut the square in half and overlapped a couple of scallops to get more of a rectangle shape.

For the central panel, I layered a piece of Basic Black with Whisper White and added a layer of Pear Pizzazz designer paper on the bottom. I also added a couple of strips of coordinating cardstock and tied on some 1/4″ Basic Black grosgrain.

For the monster, I stamped him in Jet Black StazOn on the Whisper White cardstock and again on some scrap cardstock from the Playdate Designer Paper package. I added a few spots on it also and added a Bravo Burgundy tongue.

The saying is from Word Play and I used coordinating markers. I then mounted it on Bravo Burgundy cardstock and added a couple of Always Artichoke brads.

Okay, now your turn! Head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and try your hand at the sketch!

Products used to make this project:

Cardstock: Old Olive, Always Artichoke, Pear Pizzazz, Whisper White, Basic Black.

Ink: Jet Black StazOn, Always Artichoke, Old Olive.

Stamps: Make A Monster, Word Play.

Accessories: Big Shot, Texture Plates, Clear Scallop square die, 1/4″ Basic Black grosgrain ribbon, Playdate Designer Paper, Pear Pizzaz Designer paper, Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder, Regals Brads, Stampin’ Sponges, Stampin’ Write Markers (Always Artichoke, Pear Pizzazz, Bravo Burgundy).

10 thoughts on “Feeling Green

  1. I love this one, it is perfect to send to the children I teach who are under the weather… Thanks for sharing.

  2. super cute! Love your little guy all decked out in patterned paper!

  3. Great card! Love the paper piecing – almost looks like he could be a germ too!

  4. This is great. Thanks for the tip about the scallop square and cutting it to make a rectangle. I hadn’t thought of that 🙂

  5. Great card! Great idea to use the different shades of green and coordinating DSPs to reinforce the icky feeling. Love all the textures and details.

  6. love love love this, Carrie! Your layout is absolutely fanulous and I love all the green!

  7. This is just perfect! It made me chuckle and I love that monster set, too!

  8. Love the various shades of greens you have combined!

  9. Pingback: Get Well Soon « Michelle's Stamping Blog

  10. Your card made me laugh…that little monster makes the perfect “bug” to showcase your get well card! Even the colors are perfect…just the right greens for phlegm! LOL! Love your card!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

