Artistic Avenger

Merci My Friend

15 Comments

Today’s card is a departure for me. I decided to make an alphabet the focal point of this card – usually I’ll use an image or a die cut. The inspiration for this card came from the Saturday Challenge on the Create with Connie and Mary Holiday Edition site. Yes, I still do the Thursday Challenges but these Saturday ones are for those who subscribe to their online classes of sorts. It’s a really great deal and you can learn A TON!

Anyhow, onto the card. I decided to go monochromatic on this one so the colours I’ve used are Crumb Cake, Very Vanilla and Early Espresso.

On the Crumb Cake base, I stamped the large circular stamp from Artistic Etchings in Crumb Cake ink. I then ran a strip of Newsprint Designer paper along the centre of the card and lined both edges with Early Espresso cardstock which I ran through my Scallop Trim border punch.

As I was stamping, I realized that the Chocolate Chip patterned DSP from the Deck the Halls Designer Paper really matches this stamp set so I cut out a Scallop Envelope with my Big Shot and lined the inside with Very Vanilla Designer Paper. I then stamped letters to spell “merci” in Crumb Cake on strips of Very Vanilla using my Broadsheet Alphabet. I distressed and tore edges and even added a few Basic Pearls to the letters.  I then tucked a little crown in behind for good measure.

I wanted to tie on some Very Vanilla seam binding around the envelope but it kept showing through. So, little trick – add some Very Vanilla cardstock in behind the seam binding for a more solid colour! For the bow, I tied a bow and then added a Basic Glimmer Brad to the centre of a 1/2″ Very Vanilla circle on which I’d stamped an image from Artistic Etchings. I then added the 1/2″ circle to the top of an Antique Brass Build-A-Brad.

To the left of the envelope, I pinned on “a note of thanks” from Thank You Kindly using a pin from the Trinkets set. It felt a little “open” on that side, so I stamped the Eiffel Tower in Early Espresso, cut it out and adhered it in behind the saying.

Hope you like it and thanks so much for stopping by!

Products used to make this project:

Cardstock: Very Vanilla, Crumb Cake, Early Espresso.

Ink: Early Espresso, Crumb Cake.

Stamps: Artistic Etchings, Thank You Kindly, Broadstreet Alphabet.

Accessories:  Very Vanilla Seam Binding, Basic Glimmer Brads, Build-A-Brad, 1/2″ circle, Trinkets, Scallop Envelope Die, Basic Pearls. Scallop Trim border punch, Newsprint DSP, spritzer tool.

15 thoughts on “Merci My Friend

  1. Beautiful! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. What a great combo. Now I know what to do with my alphabet set.

  3. I love your cards and this one is exquisite! I hope you don’t mind if I copy the envelope idea.

  4. Oh my word Carrie–this is AMAZING! So many details to love but the letters from the envelope is pure genius. So glad you could join us again at the Paper Players this week! Hugs!

  5. You are a genius as always! Love the card, so unique and amazing (so very Carrie 🙂

  6. Oooh, just lovely…haven’t used my envie die for a long time! Wonderful vintage-themed card!! Thanks so much for playing with the Paper Players this week!

  7. Absolutely fabulous! Soooo creative and unique! Love it! Thanks for joining The Paper Players this week!

  8. Hello Carrie,
    I really like what you do, thank you for inspiration. i am a French SU demonstrator and I put an article today on my blog with reference to yours I would be very honored if you could visit my blog
    http://lescrapdenath.over-blog.fr/article-coup-de-coeur-du-mercredi-58368272.html
    thank you
    n@th

  9. GORGEOUS, GORGEOUS, GORGEOUS!!! Wow, Carrie! I LOVE all the details on your card! Thanks for playing along with Create with Connie and Mary!

  10. Unbelievable…you amaze me with your cards!!! Thanks for joining the Paper Players this week.
    Lesley

  11. Love all the little details, different elements and the monochromatic color choices Carrie! Thanks for playing along this week!

  12. Hi Carrie
    Love that you chose to highlight the alphabet sets. So often they are the most neglected stamps in our cache and this is the perfect way to showcase them. Love all the details that you managed to fit onto this card. The crown, the pin, the brad, etc. All of it lead up to a fabulous card.
    So pleased you joined the Paper Players again this week.
    Jaydee

  13. Oh wow, une jolie carte en français! Love the monochromatic scheme and design 🙂

    Cindy

  14. Amazing Carrie…truly AMAZING! Your sense of style and design never ceases to blow me away! Thanks for playing along this week with the Create with Connie and Mary Saturday Challenge.

  15. Carrie,
    You must be a closet scrapper. All your card art is layers of exciting detail adding up to a beautiful eyeful of delight!
    Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

