Artistic Avenger

Spoil Me!

5 Comments

Well I decided to take a break from holiday cards today and make something fun and for someone special. This particular card is for a special guy in my life (who may very well be reading this so if you are, STOP!).

My dear hubby is a really great guy for some many reasons but the best reason is that he just loves me for me. I can be quite neurotic and a wee bit controlling but he just lets it go and says something silly to make me laugh and snap out of it. I can’t imagine my life without him. Okay hon, if you read that, I guess it’s okay! 🙂

I was inspired by the latest ColourQ challenge which was a double challenge of sorts – a sketch and colour challenge!

I was intrigued by the CQC challenge #46, different combination but I thought, yeah I can do it!

The base is textured Wild Wasabi and since I really like the look of textured cardstock, I did nothing else to it. Because there is a lot of colour going on, I decided to layer the colour blocks in Very Vanilla – not something that I usually do. The side Baja Breeze panel is Elegant Soiree designer paper. I layered two strips and distressed the edge in the centre for a little dimension and visual interest (my new fave catch phrase!).

To the right, I used the Holiday Windows Movers and Shapers die to cut out a central window.This was done with Daffodil Delight cardstock. I ran it through the Big Shot with the Perfect Polka dots folder and sponged it. I then stamped So Many  Thanks on the inside. I used Wild Wasabi and Baja Breeze ink and then stamped it again with Cherry Cobbler and cut out the centre “thanks”. I sponged it with Baja Breeze and added it on with dimensionals.

I added a bracket from the Hearts & Brackets die in Cherry Cobbler and some Daffodil Delight grosgrain tied onto a Very Vanilla ribbon slide.

Next, for the bottom little sentiment, I added the text you find under the big “thanks” from the Level 1 hostess set Afterthoughts. I punched it out with my Word Window punch and added a silver brad.

Lastly, I had to try to figure out what to do for the upper trio of brad-like images from the sketch. Well, I kept in doing a tone-on-tone type effect and stamped the floral line image from the Level 1 Hostess set Just Because in Wild Wasabi ink on Wild Wasabi cardstock. I distressed the edges and added three Basic Pearls.

WOW – getting away from the holiday cards was fun – but believe me, I still have so many more to show you!

Thanks for stopping by!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Textured and Smooth Wild Wasabi, Very Vanilla, Daffodil Delight, Cherry Cobbler.

Ink: Baja Breeze, Wild Wasabi, Cherry Cobbler, Daffodil Delight.

Stamps: Level 1 Hostess sets – Afterthoughts, Just Because. So Many Thanks.

Accessories: Elegant Soiree DSP, Big Shot, Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder, Movers & Shapers, Hearts and Brackets die, Word Window punch, Very Vanilla Hodge Podge Hardware, Daffodil Delight Grosgrain, Basic Pearls, SIlver Brads.

5 thoughts on “Spoil Me!

  1. Bright and cheery, Love your card. This is one of my favorite combo’s, Carrie! Thanks for playing the ColourQ challenge this week!

  2. Ooh, another great creation! Love the combination of the two sentiments – clever!!

  3. This is so awesome! Love the tearing and distressed look! Wonderful job on the challenge!!!

  4. What a fun creation. I think this was one of my fav combos….especially with the apron. You took it to a new level with your layers, punches, sentiments & embellishments! I love the little torn edges…such a homey touch! Thanks for playing the CQC this week!

  5. LOVE how you made that window and highlighted it with the red parenthesis-sp?? LOVE all the torn edges and the embossing, too!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

