Artistic Avenger

BOO to YOU!

42 Comments

Today’s projects are super special – for a couple of reasons. First, I just love them. Second, these projects have been chosen as a Surprise Guest Designer for Create with Connie and Mary for their Holiday Edition.  Today is the LAST day for the Early Bird Special price of $34.95…a savings of $5 off !  If you leave a comment on this particular post, your name will go into a drawing to win a FREE SUBSCRIPTION to Create with Connie and Mary Holiday Edition!

Now, let me give you a wee breakdown on this project!

The frame is a 5×7 black frame that I got at local big box store – nothing too fancy. But it is what’s inside that counts! Inside, is a piece of Newsprint Designer Series paper. On it, I embossed the Spider Web using the embossing folder and I then sponged the web with Basic Black ink.

I added some Raven 1/2″ lace to the top right and then around the bottom of the frame. In the centre of the glass I added a spider from the Spooky Things Decor Elements and then a decorative label in Basic Black to which I added some black chunky glitter around the outside. I then added a Very Vanilla large oval which was stamped with the word “spooky” from Wicked Cool.

For the little candy pot I used an empty lemonade tin that I had laying around. I covered it with Newsprint Designer Paper and then topped and bottomed it with the Raven 1/2″ lace.

In the centre, I added the bat from Spooky Things Decor Elements. I actually cut this one down the centre to extend the wing span a little bit more. In the centre I added a 2 3/8″ Basic Black scallop and in the centre a 1 3/4″ Very Vanilla circle which I stamped with images from Wicked Cool. I also added a silver Glimmer Brad to the bottom of this piece and a wee fan of cardstock at the bottom.

For the lid, I actually took the lid piece directly off and made a new one. I took two strips of 1″ x 12″ designer paper and folded them every 1/2″. I then adhered a larger circle of Very Vanilla on which I’d added another decor element and again an outline of chunky black glitter.

I hope you’ve enjoyed these projects – I had so much fun making them!

Now, make sure you leave a comment as you could win a FREE subscription to Create with Connie and Mary Holiday Edition!

42 thoughts on “BOO to YOU!

  1. Your frame is ‘spookily’ awesome! Love the top of the can. Great Halloween projects.

  2. Very cute and very spooky. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Carrie, these are WONDERFUL Halloween projects. I totally enjoy your work and creativity!
    Jackie

  4. Love your projects, they are awesome! Thanks for sharing.

  5. how very clever! love them both!

  6. GREAT projects Carrie! Can’t wait to see more of your ideas on Create with Connie and Mary.

  7. Such creative projects! I love the black and Cream theme.

  8. I really LOVE your projects!! The DSP is soooo cool done this way!!

  9. Very creative. You have added dazzle to halloween. Love your projects

  10. How wickedly wonderful! I love how you used something that would normally be thrown away to create a fun and decorative container!

  11. Love Love Love the projects. Can’t wait to see more, the front of the can is so cool making it look like a bat. What a fun idea!!

  12. Love these projects……..I’ve been trying to come up with something for my containers.

  13. The spider is so realistic! What a great idea. Thank you for sharing with us.

  14. Love your projects, Carrie! Thanks for one last chance to win a subscription to Create with Connie & Mary…always full of great ideas.

  15. I love your work, and these are just awesome! I’ve had fun with the Spooky Things Decor Elements too. I think the ideas shown at Convention got a lot of us motivated to use them. They really are a great value for all that you can do with them!

  16. You are the best! I love all that you create! You inspire me every time I see one of your creations! Thank you for all you do!

  17. Love, Love, Love this project. Thank you so much for sharing it. You inspired me to do something like this for my card club! Thank you.

  18. I absolutely love your projects! They are so creative and inspiring. Thanks for sharing.

  19. Just GORGEOUS Carrie! LOVE your projects!
    Smiles.

  20. How many ways can we say cute? Love to get ideas on altering “recycled” items, and you’ve demonstrated well. The lid is absolutely fabulous. Hope to win a free pass as would love to see all the wonderful creations on Create with Connie and Mary! Thanks for the inspiration.

  21. Very cute idea…great idea to use the newsprint for Halloween…thanks for sharing

  22. Enjoyed seeing your projects thanks for the inspiration!

  23. Wicked cool, Carrie! Really love the spider frame!

  24. Your spooky designs are “bootiful” – love it and can’t wait to experiment – thanks for helping me think outside the box.

  25. These are adorable! If you have any good ideas using the koolaid plastic canisters, I’d love to know! I love your framed piece too!

  26. These are wonderfully wicked projects!

  27. Great Halloween projects! I really like the tin can.

  28. I never would have thought to use that DSP on Halloween projects! Both things are great!

  29. Wonderfully Wicked Talent! Thanks for sharing…

  30. Your project are awesome. I love the canister top and the wrap around bat!! Great projects that I will have to try. Thanks for sharing!

  31. Love it! Don’t have lemonade cans (diabetic) but do have lots of Crystal Lite & Wylers SF Drink mix cans. They are plastic with smooth edged plastic lids just waiting to be covered.

  32. Love it!!! great projects and thanks for sharing

  33. Wow! These projects are…well, wickedly cool!!! I love that you used the Newsprint DSP, as well! I’m not much into Halloween, but these are fabulous!! TFS! Thanks for the opportunity to win a free subscription! I think I need to subscribe to your blog!

  34. This is really cute! Thanks for sharing and a chance to win a free pass.

    Robbie

  35. These are so great! I just love the Halloween projects!

  36. Jackie……….love your Halloween projects….as always, very creative. I am a great fan of your blog….I check it daily ;0)

  37. I just love this, it is so classic and versatile, great gift idea or I would want to decorate with them in my house! Now I have to have the newsprint DSP!!

  38. Wooow… Wicked awesome projects, Carrie! Love the mix of the Newsprint DSP (my new fave) with the lace trim. Love the elegant Halloween look you’ve achieved here! TFS!

    CIndy

  39. I just found you & boy am I glad I did. Your projects are awesome. I will definitely be checking in often!

  40. Awesome Halloween projects Carrie. Absolutely love the “spooky frame”. Beautifully done!

    Penny
    http:pennytokensstampinspot

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

