Artistic Avenger

I can Sew! Who knew?

4 Comments

Yep, I can. Actually truth be told, my Mom helped a little with the second project you’ll see on this post – just a little too finicky for me!

I decided that since Shelli has a fabric challenge on this month, I’d better work with the fabric and I’m loving it! So, after making many card projects, I decided I’d try my hand at making a couple of ornaments.

This first one uses the Candy Cane Designer Fabric. The base is a Scallop Circle die and I’ve sewn the outside edges together and then stuffed them with batting (thanks again Lynn for letting me know this is what the white-fluffy-stuffing-stuff is called). I also sewed a bit of White Satin ribbon for the hanger.

On the front, I cut two of the bottom piece on the Baskets and Blooms die. I folded them in half and adhered them so they’d stick out a bit. And, then I added the ornament cut from the Holiday Windows Movers & Shapers. I sewed this together and stuffed it and added a wee bit of linen thread. Cute, huh?

So I made one with the Candy Cane Designer Fabric, it certainly wouldn’t be fair not to use the Deck the Halls Designer Fabric, would it?

I again used the same scallop circle die and this time I added a cut out from the Movers & Shapers Holiday windows and sewed it directly on the base, it is pretty tone-on-tone but you get the idea.  A piece of Very Vanilla satin ribbon was sewn into the base and I added an Antique Brad.

The bird is cut from the Holiday Windows Movers & Shapers and is sewn and stuffed with batting. I used the Bright Christmas stamp set and stamped “winter wonderland” on some twill tape using my Jet Black StazOn ink. I then adhered to the ornament.

Please give projects like this a try – step out of your comfort zone – you may be surprised with the results!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Ink: Jet Black StazOn.

Stamps: Bright Christmas.

Accessories: Candy Cane and Deck the Halls Designer Fabric, Holiday Windows Movers & Shapers, twill tape, Very Vanilla Satin ribbon, Whisper White Satin Ribbon, linen thread, Baskets and Blooms Die, Scallop Circle die, Antique Brads, 1/4″ Real Red grosgrain.

4 thoughts on “I can Sew! Who knew?

  1. Look at you go with your new sewing skills! Awesome! I love sewing, my mom taught me too. Its a lost art these days I think… Keep sewing and making those adorable projects! Can’t wait to see what else you come up with!

  2. Those are wonderful, Carrie!! Your fabric projects have all been incredible so far and I predict you’re going to win the So Shelli contest this month… 🙂

    Good luck!
    Cindy

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

