Artistic Avenger

Birthday Balloon

5 Comments

So I recently found a new challenge blog (well, new to me anyhow), The Paper Players. I love the work these ladies do so I thought I’d join in the fun!

This week the challenge is CAS – clean and simple. I very much like clean and simple design, however, I tend to find this a little more difficult than a detailed project.

For this card, I was determined not to make a holiday themed card. I have been so busy making holiday projects for Halloween and Christmas lately so it was great to take a break by making something cute and fun.

The base is Old Olive and I’ve used some Playdate Designer paper and added a strip along the bottom. Below that, I added another strip of Old Olive which I embossed with the Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder. Along the top of the designer paper, I added a 1/4″ Early Espresso ribbon with a large Chocolate chip brad.

Next, I stamped an image from the level 1 hostess set, Afterthoughts. I used my Tempting Turquoise, Real Red and Chocolate Chip Stampin’ Write Markers and sponged the cardstock with Chocolate Chip ink. I then stamped the balloon from Beary Best Friends in Jet Black StazOn ink. I stamped it over the edge and then I stamped it again on some So Saffron cardstock and cut it out and added it on with a dimensional.

In the end, I’m quite happy with this card but especially the layout. I think you may be seeing this again soon!

Thanks so much for stopping by and have a great weekend!

Products used to make this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Old Olive, Confetti White, So Saffron.

Ink: Chocolate Chip, Jet Black StazOn, Stampin’ Write Markers (Real Red, Chocolate Chip, Tempting Turquoise).

Stamps: Beary Best Wishes, Afterthoughts.

Accessories: Big Shot, Perfect Polka Dot Embossing Folder, Play Date Designer Paper, 1/4″ Early Espresso Taffeta, Corner Rounder Punch.

5 thoughts on “Birthday Balloon

  1. Cute, cute, cute! I love the distressed edges and the ribbon treatment! Thanks for joining The Paper Players this week!

  2. Carrie, another gorgeous card. I love the balloon on the sentiment.. the ribbon treatment with the brad and the layers and interest that are on this card…. Yet, it still remains perfectly clean and simple!
    thank you for joining the Paper Players this week – and for your nice comments 🙂
    Jaydee

  3. Fantastic card Carrie! Love all your little details even in a CAS card: the distressed edges, the polka dots, the balloon and I love the ruffled taffeta ribbon. You’re right, the layout is a keeper. So glad you joined us this week! Take care…

  4. p.s. thanks too for your kind words about the Paper Players…
    🙂

  5. Luv, luv, luv this card. Simple elements but so well put together and the colors make such a great bold statement.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

