Artistic Avenger

In a Fabric Frenzy

Leave a comment

Now the idea for this card was not exactly mine (shocking, huh?). I was inspired by a card I saw on the fabric demo station at Convention this year. The picture is to the right. See the vanilla card in the back with the two hearts? Well, I thought it was super cute and wanted to do something similar but not exactly the same. And I wanted it to be CAS (clean and simple).

I started with a Crumb Cake card base and added two strips of Deck the Halls designer paper. I love that the patterns match the Designer Fabric so well!

Then, I wanted to make two fabric hearts. So I used my Scalloped Heart of Hearts Embosslit to cut them out. But before I ran them through my Big Shot, I added some Multi Purpose Adhesive to the backs of the fabric. These sheets are AWESOME! I have almost used up one whole pack already!

The Vanilla/Cherry Cobbler heart is adhered straight to the card base but I wanted the Always Artichoke one to stick out a bit more. So, I didn’t bother removing the backing of the Multi Purpose Adhesive and added dimensionals.

Next, I needed to add some embellishments, so I added a large Cherry Cobbler button from the Deck the Halls buttons which I tied with linen thread. And to the upper heart I added a Bitty Button backed in Cherry Cobbler and a little ruffle of Very Vanilla taffeta ribbon.

Lastly, and actually the first thing I picked for this card, is the sentiment. This particular one is from Contempo Christmas and this saying alone is why I bought this stamp set. I stamped it on Very Vanilla cardstock with Always Artichoke ink and away I went!

This card is one that I’ll be doing in an upcoming fabric class. You can read all about the class and see the other great projects by clicking on my classes and events tab or by clicking directly here!

Thanks for stopping by and Happy Labour Day!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Crumb Cake (120953), Very Vanilla (101650), Cherry Cobbler (119685).

Ink: Always Artichoke (105219).

Stamps: Contempo Christmas (120594).

Accessories: Sizzix Big Shot (113439), Scalloped Heart of Hearts Embosslit (117332), Deck the Halls Fabric (121716), Deck the Halls DSP (120810), Deck the Halls Buttons (120002), Bitty Buttons (118761), Itty Bitty Shapes Punch Pack (118309), linen thread (104119), Very Vanilla Taffeta Ribbon (109071), Multi Purpose Adhesive sheets (120805).

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

