Artistic Avenger

My Family

4 Comments

So I’ve finally made a family frame. I’ve seen them everywhere but it wasn’t until someone asked me to one in a class-type format that I actually got my behind in gear to make one. I found some great frames at clearance prices so I bought a bunch and they are PERFECT!

This will be pretty quick of a write up as there is really not much to explain. I used Confetti White 12×12 cardstock for the base. I just like this best for watercolouring.

First thing I did was draw the landscape out with pencil. Then I stamped the people from All in the Family. By doing this first, you can get them in and coloured before adding the sky and landscape. One other important thing to note here is that you should also add your lettering first (but not adhere till the end) so you know you’ve got your “peeps” in the right spot. The lettering is the Simple Alphabet cut with my Sizzix using Not Quite Navy cardstock.

I sponged the sky using Marina Mist ink and Gretchen Barron’s fantastic idea which you can find here. I was thrilled to have found this super helpful idea! Thanks Gretchen!

Next, I used a narrow Sharpie to complete the landscape. I traced over my pencil line and then watercoloured with Old Olive ink to the bottom. Once done, I adhered my lettering.

I knew somehow I wanted the word “family” included so I stamped it using Fundamental Phrases and made a little flag that my hubby and I are holding.

I am really quite happy with this project. The only thing I’m missing is some wide striped ribbon to tie in a bow at the top. Then it’ll be all done!

Thanks for stopping by today! Have a great Labour Day weekend!

Products used to make this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Confetti White 12×12, Not Quite Navy, Early Espresso (for flag pole), Marina Mist.

Ink: Jet Black StazOn, Getting Started Stampin’ Spots.

Stamps: All in the Family, Family Accessories, Fundamental Phrases.

Accessories: Sizzix Big Shot, Simple Alphabet, Aquapainter, Blender Pen, Stamp-A-Ma-Jig, narrow Sharpie (non-SU), Scallop circle die, Scallop Circle punch, stampin sponges.

4 thoughts on “My Family

  1. Carrie, this is adorable! Makes me want to make one of my own! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Really cute frame! I’m always nervous to watercolor but I might have to try it to get a cute frame like this! Thanks for sharing the tip & link to Gretchen’s site for the clouds.

  3. Too cute, but Craig’s not THAT tall!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

