Artistic Avenger

Merry & Bright

11 Comments

Yesterday brought the Holiday Mini to us and today I bring you a card made with Holiday Mini items!

This card was made for the latest Create with Connie and Mary Challenge and it’s a sketch this week. I really had to think about what I wanted to do but then I was trying to come up with projects for my upcoming Vintage Christmas class and I decided to kill two birds with one stone (I really don’t like that expression but couldn’t think of another way to put it!). Here is the sketch for the challenge this week:

I started with an Always Artichoke base and layered it again with another piece of Always Artichoke which I’d run through my Big Shot with the Petals A Plenty embossing folder. I then sponged the edges with Early Espresso and roughed it up a bit.

Next, I added bits of Early Espresso Grosgrain ribbon just like the sketch. I just love this colour!

For the middle layer, I used a piece of Deck the Halls designer series paper and layered it on some Early Espresso cardstock. You can’t see it in the photo, but I sprayed this with Champagne Mist shimmer paint so it sparkles.

Next, I made the folded scallop medallion. I’ve seen this everywhere and was totally confused as to how to make this. I think I attempted it about 5 times before I figured it out. And, it’s super easy. For this medallion, I used the smaller scallop circle and here is what I did:

  • Punch out two scallop circles of Designer Paper.
  • Cut from the edge into the centre at one point.
  • Fold accordian style at each scallop.
  • Do the same with the second scallop circle.
  • Adhere the outer most fold of both scallop circles together.
  • Add a centre embellishment.
  • Adhere to larger scallop (in this case Early Espresso).

See, not too hard? I then added a couple of loops of Very Vanilla taffeta ribbon in behind this piece.

Lastly, for the sentiment. I used the new Decorative Label punch and punched a piece of Naturals Ivory out.  I stamped the “merry and bright” sentiment from the Bright Christmas stamp set using my Early Espresso and Cherry Cobbler markers. I stamped it again on some scrap Cherry Cobbler and cut out the word “bright” and affixed it onto the label. I then added a little flat pearl just because.

So, head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and try your hand at the sketch. Have fun!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Naturals Ivory (101849), Always Artichoke (105119), Cherry Cobbler (119685), Early Espresso (119686).

Ink: Cherry Cobbler (119669), Early Espresso (119670).

Stamps: Bright Christmas (121318).

Accessories: Big Shot (113439), Petals a Plenty embossing folder (116824), Early Espresso 1/4″ grosgrain (120931), scallop circle punch (119854), large scallop circle punch (118874), antique brads (117273)), Champagne Mist Shimmer paint (116806), Deck the Halls designer paper (120810), Very Vanilla taffeta ribbon (109071), flat pearls (119247), Decorative Label punch (120907).

11 thoughts on “Merry & Bright

  1. I Love this card! It’s so elegant and beautiful. You do great work!
    Cynthia

  2. Carrie, I just love that accordian flower on the scallop circle. Gorgeous card!

  3. This is gorgeous!! I have always wanted to try the scallop medallion. Thanks for posting the “how-to”!

  4. Wowzers, Carrie!!! That is SERIOUSLY gorgeous!!! LOVE it!

  5. I am CRAZY in love with this card! Absolutely gorgeous:)

  6. What a beautiful, perfectly vintage Christmas card! Great job Design Team Buddy!

  7. I really like this card! Thank you for the explanation on the scallop flowers. I too was trying to imagine how to make them. Now I may just need to attempt a similar rendition.

  8. Your card is amazing! Love the colors you used for this gorgeous Christmas card…it’s such a beauty, with the lovely flower!

  9. Carrie your vintage Christmas cards are just awesome!!! I’m so glad to have found your blog and I will check back often to see what you come up with next! Good luck with your vintage card class later this month.

  10. gorgeous card! This will be on my punch inspiration blog post tomorrow. TFS!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

