Artistic Avenger

Peek-A-Boo!

7 Comments

I’ve been wanting to make a card with a peek-a-boo window for a while and this week, I’ve done it! Amongst working outside the house the past few weeks, two weekend trips and now a boil water advisory for my City (don’t ask) – I’ve made it into the craft room very briefly to bring this card to you today!

The inspiration for this project is this week’s challenge at Create with Connie and Mary!

They have an amazing inspiration photo and here it is.

At first, I wasn’t sure what to do but I knew I wanted to use Marina Mist, Daffodil Delight and Real Red.  So, I started with a Whisper White card base and made my peek-a-boo window first. I used my Paper Trimmer and cut in 1″ from all sides to make a square “window” to peek through. I then backed the inside with Daffodil Delight on which I stamped a sentiment from On Your Birthday. I used the Bitty Buttons on the word “love” and tied it with some Marina Mist cardstock.

For the outside, I used strips of Marina Mist cardstock and adhered them to the outside of the card. I then trimmed them to reveal the centre.

Then to finish the outside, I added a folded ribbon in Basic Black (5/8″ grosgrain) and a Big Button from the upcoming Holiday Mini Catalogue (LOVE THESE!).

I hope you’ll rush on over to Create with Connie and Mary give the challenge a try! Here is a little look at how the peek-a-boo window really looks…..

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Whisper White, Daffodil Delight, Real Red, Marina Mist.

Ink: Basic Black.

Stamps: On Your Birthday.

Accessories: Paper trimmer, 5/8″ Basic Black Grosgrain, Big buttons (coming soon!), Bitty Buttons, small heart punch.

7 thoughts on “Peek-A-Boo!

  1. Fabulous card Carrie! And at least I know you haven’t disappeared! 🙂 Hope the rest of your week goes smoothly!

  2. Love your card! The stripes (or strips) of blue are the perfect touch!!

  3. Wow! What a great idea! And I LOVE how that one blue strip goes across the window.

  4. This is soooo cute, I love the window idea. I’m going to have to try this!

    Laurie

    ps. Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my card!

  5. I LOVE your take on this challenge, the window card is a great idea:)

  6. I love the cleanness with the striking accents. Very pretty and effective!
    Cynthia

  7. Love the window! Great card!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

