Artistic Avenger

The Jaxon Book

7 Comments

This is a fun and different project for me which includes using a tool that SCARES ME! – A SEWING MACHINE!

Now with new and fun fabric on the rise and cool projects I want to try, I have to play around and master the use of it. So, when my hubby’s cousin and his wife had their new baby, Jaxon, I knew I wanted to make a cloth book for him.

I started with some scrap fabric in cool bright colours. I cut out letters for the cover using my Sizzix Big Shot and the Simple Alphabet Bigz Die. I ironed them on using iron on transfer. Then on the inside, I added more letters and….

Then I used My Digital Studio for printing off all the lettering and pictures to match the letters. Now, keep in mind, if you use My Digital Studio, you need to mirror the letters for printing on the iron on transfer paper. Using My Digital Studio, putting together letters and photos are easy and so simple to print out and iron on. I did a letter and picture for each letter of Jaxon’s name and my most favourite is….

So much fun, right? Now a couple of other little tidbits about this book: I used a flat sheet sheet and cut it into folded pages so the book itself is 8″ x 8″. I filled it with some quilt filling and stitched up the edges. I then added a seam down the centre and VOILA!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

My Digital Studio (118108), Sizzix Big Shot (113439), Simple Alphabet Letters (115960).

7 thoughts on “The Jaxon Book

  1. Such a fun project – my kids would love it! Thanks for posting it – saw it on SC:)

  2. That is the cutest thing ever. You are so clever Carrie! I’m s o lucky to have you as my upline!

  3. Carrie, this is a great project & what a wonderful gift idea. You’re so creative:)

  4. This is awesome! And I just ordered those Big Shot letters!! Wooo hooo.

  5. Wow! You are so clever. This is the cutest book ever! Love the All in the Family character at the ened šŸ™‚

  6. This is brilliant šŸ™‚ Such a great idea!

  7. If I wasn’t so terrified of the sewing machine myself, I might attempt this project. Alas, I’m one to run in fear rather than face it head on so this will remain a pipe dream for me. TFS!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

