Artistic Avenger

A Monster of a Birthday

2 Comments

I made this little gift set a while back but I’ve just been super busy and haven’t had time to post it! I feel like I’ve not brought anything new to the blog lately and, believe me, I’m working on it!

I had a last minute booking for a Stamp-A-Stack for Monday so last night I created and cut 200 cards. Then, I had to cut for my Tuesday class (50 cards). Then, I have a stack of 20 baby thank you cards to make. A hostess gift for Monday. A holiday swap….and well, the list just goes on and on! And, I’ve been doing shifts at the local fire hall (no, I’m not a fire fighter!) in the emergency office so I’ve been away from the craft room. Whew!

Anyhow, the card above, was based on this FTL101 on the Clean & Simple blog and this ColourQ colour scheme.

The base is So Saffron and across the centre I added some Basic Black layered with Poppy Parade. I stamped the little google eyes from Make A Monster on the top of the Poppy Parade piece and paper pierced along the bottom. The Bashful Blue piece across centre was stamped with the little swirl stamp from Make a Monster also.

The little monster guy is watercoloured with coordinating colours and is cut out with my Circle Scissor cutter.

The little pennant banner is made using my Large Star Punch (my favourite tip from Convention!). Just punch out a star and cut off the points. I then stamped them points with the birthday boy’s name and adhered them to some linen thread.

So, for this little guy’s birthday, we gave him a gift card so he could figure out what he wanted to get (or pool all the gift cards together to get something awesome). I just couldn’t stick the gift card in the card, could I?

Here is the outside of the CD tin, all dolled up with matching colours but on the inside:

We again added coordinating colours and a fun pouch for the gift card. And did you notice the little monsters peeking out from behind the stars?

Thanks for stopping by and please be patient, I’ll have some new things soon!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Confetti White, Basic Black, Poppy Parade, Bashful Blue, So Saffron.

Ink: Basic Black, Poppy Parade, Bashful Blue, So Saffron, Jet Black StazOn.

Stamps: On Your Birthday, Make A Monster.

Accessories: Small Star Punch, Large Star Punch, Jumbo silver brad, aquapainter, Paper piercer, mat pack, Circle Scissor Cutter, Crop-A-Dile, 1/16″ hand held punch.

2 thoughts on “A Monster of a Birthday

  1. I love the star idea! Works perfectly. I love that monster set. So cute. I will be getting it soon and my kids are excited to use it too!

  2. What a great idea for a gift card container. I’m always looking for new ways to present one. I think the star idea is great, I’ve been cutting out the banner by hand, but this is a great time-saver.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

