Artistic Avenger

The Wheels on the Bus….

11 Comments

This week at Create with Connie and Mary, the challenge is to make a “back to school” themed project! I love back to school. I think back to when I was a kid and my favourite part was getting all the supplies and new clothes. They would get organized and reorganized so many times before the actual first day – just so exciting!

Anyways, for today’s project, I decided to do a card (I think I may just send this with one of my kids on their first full day this year).

The base is Crumb Cake and then I layered it with another layer of the same colour. I first stamped the sentiment, from Word Play, and then ran it through my Big Shot with the Perfect Polka Dots folder.

Next, I added a strip of Newsprint designer series paper on a diagonal across the upper 2/3rds of the card.

Over this, I added a piece of Real Red cardstock. I used the Spiral punch on one edge and just distressed it a bunch. Added a few tears and crinkles, etc. Over that is where I added the focal piece – the buses!

Using the new stamp set, Every Little Bit, I stamped three buses in StazOn on a piece of Confetti White cardstock. I then coloured them in with Daffodil Delight, More Mustard, Basic Gray and Real Red. I layered this on some Early Espresso and roughed up the edges of both. Not sure if you can really see in the photo but I also used my Early Espresso marker and the Colour Spritzer tool to add a little more depth.

To finish it all off, I added a little ruffle of 5/8″ Old Olive Grosgrain and a black Mini Library Clip.

I am really happy with this card and hope it inspires you to head on over to Create with Connie and Mary to participate yourself!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Crumb Cake, Real Red, Confetti White, Early Espresso.

Ink: Jet Black StazOn, Daffodil Delight, More Mustard, Real Red, Basic Gray.

Stamps: Word Play, Every Little Bit.

Accessories: Big Shot, Perfect Polka Dots folder, mini library clips, 5/8″ Old Olive Grosgrain, aquapainter, spiral punch, Newsprint DSP.

11 thoughts on “The Wheels on the Bus….

  1. So adorable! I love that stamp! And now I’m gonna have that song stuck in my head all day!! šŸ˜‰

  2. I am loving this set more & more…..now you’ve REALLY made me want Word Play, too!!! This is an adorable card; you always use your embellishments to the nth degree!!!

  3. Love your card! It really has that back to school feel to it!

  4. FABulous layout Carrie! Love all your layers and that little bit of olive ribbon is PERFECT!

  5. Those buses are just the best. Love this card!
    Cynthia

  6. Beautiful! Love the layers and 3-d effect, and the coloring of your buses! Great Card!

  7. This is such a CUTE card!

  8. You are wonderful – I just love everything about this!

  9. This is adorable!!!! Everything fits together so nicely! I like how you repeated the bus going over the edges. I’ve been eyeing this stamp set and wondering if I’d use it enough to warrant getting it… You’re making it harder to resist!

    Cindy šŸ™‚

  10. What an amazing card! WOW!! I love the colours, the layout, that background is super, the buses!! WOW the roughness of it all, it’s totally AWESOME!!!! LOVE IT!!!!
    Smiles Sharnee :0)

  11. Pingback: I CASE-ed Myself! « Artistic Avenger

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

