Artistic Avenger

Vintage Candle – Almost Artisan 3D Project #1

3 Comments

So, here is my first of the two 3D projects that I completed for my non-winning Artisan entry this year. With this project, I decided to go with quality versus something extremely new and unique.

I used a standard candle and embossed it with the Very Vintage jumbo wheel. I then added a strip of Crumb Cake cardstock to the bottom and a ruffled ribbon (which I sewed!). I then added a Basic Black circle to the bottom.

For the little embellishment piece, I added a butterfly in Basic Gray which was run through with the harlequin texture plate. I sponged it and added little white dots. I then layered it with another butterfly on which I wheeled to match. This is also sponged. I tied linen thread on for a body and antennae.

Behind the butterfly I added a very sparkly leaf detail using my Little Leaves Sizzlet and Dazzling Diamonds and a little flower detail which is actually a snowflake from Snow Swirled which I punched out with the Boho Blossoms punch and added a clear rhinestone brad.

Now, there is more! I decided that this candle needed something to go in so I made a holder for it.

Horrible picture, I know! Here is what I did (I think….)…

I used the 3-tier cake die to make the base and top. Cut the circles and doubled it to make it sturdy. I added Crumb Cake cardstock and some Basic Black which was punched with the Eyelet border punch. The lid has a great Basic Gray Satin ribbon bow also. What I used to make the clear-ish sides was a craft keeper! Yep, I cut it up and made it as the outer layer so you could see through at the awesome candle. I used some Kraft taffeta ribbon to tie it together at the back to keep it all closed.

Maybe not the WOW they were looking for but it is fresh and creative and well done (in my opinion anyways!).

Thanks so much for looking!

Cindy
Jamie
Jackie
Patty
Katy
Melissa
Tina
Kelly
Ashley
Carmen
Monika
Tracy
Sam
Jenn
Renee
Carrie
3 thoughts on “Vintage Candle – Almost Artisan 3D Project #1

  1. OMG I love the candle. Embossed? Versmark and black embossing powder? the candle didnt melt? any tricks I should be warned about?

  2. You’ve outdone yourself yet again! Wait, have I said that a million times yet?

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

