Artistic Avenger

A Big Heart

8 Comments

This week’s Create with Connie and Mary Challenge is a great sketch! I had something completely different planned but, you know how that goes! Here is the sketch and here is what I did!

I started with a 5″ x 5″ card base of River Rock. I then cut out a very big heart using some Very Vanilla cardstock and ran it through the Big Shot with the Perfect Polka dot embossing folder. I then paper pierced around the whole thing. Tedious but a great effect.

Next, for the central panel, I decided to use a piece of Elegant Soiree designer paper and layer a window sheet over it – on which I stamped the saying in Jet Black StazOn from Word Play. It is hard to tell from the photo but that clean shiny layer looks really good!

Now, under that layer I really wanted to add some lace or crochet ribbon of sorts but just don’t have any so I took a piece of 3/8″ Twill Tape and my Clear Scallop Square Sizzix Die and ran it through. Now, I have scalloped twill tape! Then I took my 1/16″ handheld punch and punched a hole in each scallop. I adhered it to the card and tied over the seam with some 1/4″ Basic Black grosgrain ribbon.

Lastly, I needed to add a little something extra so I took a piece of Confetti White cardstock and stamped the large floral outline image from Flower Fancy in Jet Black StazOn. I then watercoloured using my Aquapainter and Baja Breeze ink. I used A LOT of water to the paper would curl up nicely on the edges. I added an Antique Brad to the centre of the flower and used my Basic Black Stampin’ Write marker and Spritzer Tool to add a bit of spritz to the flower petals.

I hope you enjoy this card and remember, please head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and play along!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: River Rock, Very Vanilla, Confetti White.

Ink: Jet Black StazOn, Basic Black Stampin’ Write Marker, Baja Breeze.

Stamps: Word Play, Flower Fancy.

Accessories: Big Shot, Clear Scallop Square Die, Window Sheets, Elegant Soiree DSP, Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder, Antique Brads, 3/8″ Twill Tape, 1/4″ Basic Black grosgrain, paper piercer, 1/16″ handheld punch.

8 thoughts on “A Big Heart

  1. Oh wow… LOVE this card, the colors, the texture and the elements are all wow.. just like the flower.. and of course, I love the antique brad flower center too!

  2. Carrie, I love how you switched out the circle element to a Heart! And the scalloped twill tape idea is awesome! Wonderful card…I just love everything about it!

  3. This is a GREAT card! Isn’t it funny how each one of us has a different vision for the sketch. I love how you used a heart instead of a circle. Everything is just perfect on your card!

  4. Your card is beautiful! I love the way you used the heart instead of a circle. (now why don’t I think of things like that?) OMG! Aren’t those antique brads to die for? Great job!

  5. This is truly an amazing and very striking card!!!!

  6. Your card took my breath away! Gorgeous! Thank you for sharing.

  7. I love this card! I’m a big fan of hearts and am always looking for ideas to use my Cuttlebug swiss dots embossing folder. My BFF would say, “This card has Kate written all over it.” Thanks for sharing!

  8. I’m lovin’ this card – TFS!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

