Artistic Avenger

All Bleach and Sugar – Almost Artisan Card #3

7 Comments

Okay, really? Nice title huh? Didn’t know where to go with it and you’ll see why I’ve titled it like that in a second….

This, I think, was my most favourite card of my Artisan entries – maybe because it uses a stamp set, Elements of Style, in a completely non-intended way!

The first thing I’d done was stamp the large floral image on the Crumb Cake cardstock in Versamark and emboss with black embossing powder. I then used a Blender Pen and bleached the image out. When dry, I coloured it all in. I really liked it but wasn’t sure where to go from there. I kept that piece on my desk for a while and then realized that it looked kinda like a tattoo.

So the idea for the skull was to imitate a sugar skull. This is a type of tattoo, usually WAY more intricate than the one on this card but the idea is there. I again embossed some other pieces for the face (the eyes are embossed from the I (heart) Hearts set and punched out with the small heart punch and the mouth is just embossed and paper pieced on).

I added a panel of Real Red cardstock on which I stamped the same image as on the skull itself. It is also embossed with black embossing powder and I’ve sponged the edges and distressed them.

Behind the skull I added some taffeta ribbon (it was chocolate chip but I ran it over some Basic Black into to darken it) and some flowers from the Boho Blossoms punch in Ruby Red, Real Red and Cameo Coral.

I added an embossed and distressed saying with a bit more of the bleached flowers in the upper right and continued the motif on the inside.

Hope you enjoy it!

Cindy
Jamie
Jackie
Patty
Katy
Melissa
Tina
Kelly
Ashley
Carmen
Monika
Tracy
Sam
Jenn
Renee
Carrie

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Crumb Cake, Basic Black, Real Red, Ruby Red (retired), Cameo Coral (retired), Old Olive.

Ink: Basic Black, Versamark, Stampin’ Write Markers in Old Olive, More Mustard and Ruby Red (retired).

Stamps: Just Jawing, Elements of Style, I  (heart) Hearts.

Accessories: Chocolate Chip taffeta ribbon, Vintage Brads, Boho Blossoms Punch, Little Leaves Sizzlet, black embossing powder, heat tool, small heart punch.

7 thoughts on “All Bleach and Sugar – Almost Artisan Card #3

  1. OH.MY.GOD. I am speechless. You so totally rock–you are doing stuff that no one else does. I love how you take SU stamps and give them a much need EDGE! The sugar skull is superb and love how the elements of style looks like a tattoo. I’ve never been crazy about that set but this is how it should be used! OK, so I guess I wasn’t totally speechless. Stellar job. 🙂

  2. OMG!!!!! This card is amazing. I LOVE that you took ‘Elements of Style’ to the next level! 🙂
    Keep up the amazing work and next year you will be a WINNER!

  3. I think all the Artisian winners did a great job but this is over the top. I don’t know what criteria they used to judge because this card is awesome!

  4. This is incredible and utterly fabulous. It’s rich and full of texture and great details, WOW!

  5. WOW!! This card is fantastic! Its kind of Ed Hardy (ish). I like how all the elements work together. Can not wait to see what is next!

  6. Only you could do something so inventive.

  7. This card totally ROCKS! Wow…I love it on SO many levels! Great job, Carrie!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

