Artistic Avenger

But Mommy, there’s no snow yet…..

9 Comments

When I get home from Convention I am always so full of ideas! And, truth be told, mostly Holiday ideas!

Today, I decided I’d take some time and attack the latest Stamping 411 challenge. The sketch this week is quite simple really but I had quite the time with it. I knew I wanted to do something holiday themed but just not sure what!

I started with a colour scheme that you may all be seeing a lot of soon – Garden Green, Real Red, Baja Breeze and Blushing Bride.

Okay, I know the sketch shows only 3 items across the centre. I had decided on NOEL as I was SURE there were no other holiday words that only had three letters…..um….JOY? D’oh! Too late. After I finished cutting all those letters out, they were so going to get used!

The base of the card is Baja Breeze and is layered with Garden Green and Real Red before adding a layer of Whisper White. On that layer, I used coordinating inks to stamp the letters NOEL from the Broadstreet Alphabet (FREE for me from Sale-A-Bration!). I stamped them once on the card layer and then again on scrap and added them with dimensionals.

Along the bottom, I added some coordinating layers, Real Red 1/4″ grosgrain and an Itty Bitty Button tied with a piece of Baja Breeze cardstock.

Now, each time I make a holiday card I try to revamp it a bit to make it into a Stamp-A-Stack type of card. I do LOTS of Stamp-A-Stack classes from now until Christmas so I need A LOT of different ideas. Here is my idea with this card:

As you can see, this card is more “user friendly” than the one above but just as fun! I stamped the letters on scrap cardstock and punched them out with either the 1 1/4″ or 1 3/8″ circle punches. I added a strip of cardstock along the card and punched the Garden Green piece with the Pinking Hearts border punch. I added a little White Taffeta Ribbon and again an Itty Bitty Button. The top of the card is stamped with the snowflake from Snow Swirled using Whisper White Craft Ink.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Blushing Bride, Garden Green, Real Red, Baja Breeze, Whisper White.

Ink: Blushing Bride, Garden Green, Real Red, Baja Breeze, Whisper White Craft.

Stamps: Broadstreet Alphabet, Snow Swirled.

Accessories: 1/4″ Real Red grosgrain, Whisper White Taffeta, 1 1/4″ and 1 3/8″ circle punches, Itty Bitty Buttons, Pinking Hearts border punch, Scallop Trim Border punch.

9 thoughts on “But Mommy, there’s no snow yet…..

  1. Love your cards! The Stamp-a-Stack one is great….I always have to tone down my projects for SASs and I really like your layout here! Thanks for sharing!

  2. This is very cute but I am so pretending it does not say NOEL – I am enjoying summer……. šŸ™‚

  3. I so miss these colors! We used to have a designer paper that used these colors and it was my all time favorite paper. Gorgeous job on the challenge this week (and every week!) šŸ˜€ I always get excited to see what you’ll come up with next!

  4. I absolutely LOVE these cards, Carrie! Great colors…great take on the sketch!

  5. Love the colors!! The first thing I thought of when I saw this card was that dsp Selene mentioned! As always I love what you’ve created šŸ™‚

  6. Lady, you just blow me away with your artwork!!! You are awesome and I totally agree that after cutting out those letters you just had to use them!! Love the second card too and that is such a great idea to make a card and then come up with a SAS card!! Thanks for playing along with us over at the Stamping 411 Blog!!!

  7. the letters and colors look great, Carrie! Love the little button on the bow as well! Fabulous job, as always! Thanks for playing along this week with the Stamping 411 Operators! Blessings, Gretchen

  8. These are too fabulous!!! I so love your work. You are brilliant!!!

  9. You amaze me Carrie! Love your cards!!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

