Artistic Avenger

You Stand Out in a Crowd – Almost Artisan Card #1

8 Comments

Many of you know that I’d applied for Stampin’ Up!’s Artisan Award again this  year and again did not win. Actually this year I wasn’t even a finalist but I’m okay with that (well, not really but I’ll try to be!).

This card was the first one I’d made as I’d had this idea for quite some time. I was thrilled with the end result and found it on the punch art display board at Convention. Here is what I did:

The base is Brilliant Blue and I’ve layered it with a distressed layer of Pumpkin Pie. Next, I made a Basic Black frame and wheeled it with the Baroque Stampin’ Around wheel and embossed it with Black Embossing powder. That piece is then set on some Bashful Blue with dimensionals.

On the Bashful Blue piece, I added a whole bunch of Basic Black Jewelry Tag Punch shapes. I just always thought they looked like the shadow of people or a sky-scape. So, I added a bunch with varying degrees of dimension and then I added only one that was different.

Next, I added a tag from the Lots of Tags sizzlets and some striped Bashful Blue grosgrain. The words “someone like you” are from the Chat Room rub ons from the Occasions Mini and on the inside, I used My Digital Studio to write “stands out in a crowd”. I also embellished the inside with coordinating papers.

I really liked this card and was super proud of it. I hope you enjoy it too! Check out some other fantastic Almost Artisans!

Cindy
Jamie
Jackie
Patty
Katy
Melissa
Tina
Kelly
Ashley
Carmen
Monika
Tracy
Sam
Jenn
Renee
Carrie

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Brilliant Blue, Pumpkin Pie, Bashful Blue, Basic Black, Whisper White.

Ink: Bashful Blue.

Stamps: Baroque Stampin’ Around Wheel.

Accessories: Medium Jewelry Tag Punch, Sweet Pea DSP, Lots of Tags sizzlets, hobby blade, black embossing powder, heat tool, Bashful Blue striped grosgrain.

8 thoughts on “You Stand Out in a Crowd – Almost Artisan Card #1

  1. I feel the same way as you 🙂 This is fabulous, Carrie! I LOVE this idea!!! It’s so unique!

  2. This is sooooo cute and so stinkin’ creative!!

  3. This is a briliant card. Love how you can “see” and make different uses from the punches.

  4. I do remember seeing your card on the wall and thinking she is right that jewelry tag does look like little people. I didn’t make it to the finalist list either – we can be bummed together. I need to look more closely at the winners to see just what they did that I didn’t do.
    Monika
    monikastamp.wordpress.com

  5. Sheer genius, Carrie! Great card.

  6. What a great idea! THis would make someone feel pretty special indeed (especially if they realized how long it takes to glue all the ‘non-people’ in there!)
    Great card.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

