Artistic Avenger

Grrrr…Scary Monster!

1 Comment

How much fun is this? Okay, I’ve been home for almost 3 hours now and I’m already getting a blog post ready for you all! I’m so good, no? 🙂

The card above was made for my GoDiva group card swap. I love this group. The ladies are just SO creative and I always love each and every one of my swaps. Beautiful!

I used the Make a Monster stamp set for this card because I love it and it’s super cute! The base of the card is Marina Mist and I stamped it with Marina Mist ink using the Woodgrain stamp set.

For the central panel, I started with a piece of Night of Navy cardstock and then layered it with some various pieces:

  1. Early Espresso which was run through the Big Shot with the Perfect Polka dots plate.
  2. Crumb Cake cardstock which was stamped with the saying from Smarty Pants in Chocolate Chip craft ink and embossed with Clear embossing powder.
  3. Very Vanilla which was sponged with Crumb Cake (I’ll talk about the monster in a second).
  4. A small strip of Night of Navy cardstock.

Then, I took all these layers and sewed around the outside. Yes, I took paper and put it into a sewing machine. Yes, I did.

For the monster, I stamped him on the Very Vanilla layer in Jet Black StazOn and then again on the scale looking piece from the Elegant Soiree Designer Series paper. I cut out the body only and adhered over the stamped image (paper pieced). I took a blender pen and Marina Mist/Early Espresso inks to finish off the arms and legs.

I stamped the eyeball and mouth on some scrap cardstock. I adhered them onto the card with dimensionals and then added some Crystal Effects for an added boost of texture and dimension.

Lastly, I added an Antique Brass jumbo eyelet which I set with my Crop-A-Dile. I then added a piece of 5/8″ Marina Mist grosgrain tied with a small piece of 1/8″ Early Espresso taffeta.

I love this card! I think it has to be my favourite in a very long time! Hope you liked it too!

Products used to make this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Marina Mist, Early Espresso, Crumb Cake, Very Vanilla, Night of Navy.

Ink: Jet Black StazOn, Marina Mist, Early Espresso, Crumb Cake, Chocolate Chip Craft ink.

Stamps: Make a Monster, Smarty Pants, Woodgrain.

Accessories: 5/8″ Marina Mist Grosgrain, 1/8″ Early Espresso taffeta, Antique Brass Jumbo Eyelets, Sizzix Big Shot, Perfect Polka Dots folder, sewing machine, Crystal Effects, Elegant Soiree Designer Series Paper, Clear Embossing Powder, blender pen, heat tool.

One thought on “Grrrr…Scary Monster!

  1. Oh I love this! Very cute! I hope we get this stamp set! I have the wood grain as it was a award at our convention and I didn’t like it much until I saw your card, now I can’t wait to ink it up! TFS!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

