Artistic Avenger

Thanks a Million

3 Comments

This year for Convention, I didn’t join as many organized swaps as I usually do – I just didn’t want to run around like a crazy woman! This year, however, the two I did sign up for happen at the same time – d’oh!

The project you see above is for a swap group I belong to run by Robin Merriman. I was so thrilled to be asked to join and each time we have a swap, I try to extend my creativity as this group of ladies is FANTASTIC!

Above is my contribution to the gift card holder swap. I love gift card holders and always do at least one class on them during the holiday season as everyone gives gift cards!

The base colour for this one is Very Vanilla and I’ve layered the front with Melon Mambo, Basic Black and Newsprint designer paper. Then, I tied on some 5/8″ Basic Black grosgrain and made a great tag using a saying from the new stamp set, Word Play. I stamped it in Craft Basic Black and sprinkled it with heat and stick powder and then Dazzling Diamonds.

Okay, Carrie, where is the gift card?

Now this is the fun part! I made a false back mirroring the same layers as the front and in behind it added a sleeve for a gift card. You pull the little tab and it swings out! How much fun is that? I just used a brad on the inside as a hinge of sorts. Took a few tries to get it just right but once I did, I was so happy!

Thanks for stopping in!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Very Vanilla, Melon Mambo, Basic Black.

Ink: Basic Black craft.

Stamps: Word Play.

Accessories: Newsprint DSP, heat and stick powder, dazzling diamonds, 3/4″ circle punch, linen thread, silver brads, modern label punch, Itty Bitty punch bundle, 5/8″ Basic Black Grosgrain.

3 thoughts on “Thanks a Million

  1. Hi Carrie!

    AWESOME CARD! Too cute and Sooooooo Creative!!!! I LOVE your stuff and it was so great to meet you this weekend.

    Maybe you can pull a few strings for me so that I can swap with you talented ladies next year???….. 🙂

  2. Very cool Carrie! What a neat idea. I will have to hive it a try.

  3. I recieved one of these AWESOME gift cards at our GoDiva Swap – – – WOW! I was so surprised when I opened it up to see the unique way that you displayed the gift card – GREAT job, Carrie! Don’t know how I missed meeting you . . . but for sure next year!
    Kay

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

