Artistic Avenger

Under the Big Top

7 Comments

On Friday, I received a modest-sized box of BRAND NEW stamping supplies from the new Idea Book and Catalogue. I was SO excited. I sat down and looked at everything for quite some time and then realized I had to do something with them. This always happens. I get excited and then when everything arrives my brain goes into overload and I just can’t get started, kind of like writers block.

This morning I was searching around the blogosphere at various challenges and decided to try out the Sweet Sunday Sketch Challenge over at Karen Giron’s blog. It looked like something I could tackle today (between watching my son sing in choir at church and then heading back to the church for a camp planning BBQ).

I knew the card had to use my new Make A Monster stamp set (LOVE THIS!). I made a swap for my Go Diva group for Convention (and I am SO excited about it!) so I was inspired to use it again. I had the colour combination of Melon Mambo, Pacific Point, Crushed Concord and Old Olive on my desk to try to I grabbed both and was off and running.

Now, you may notice this is a little off the sketch. Yes, I turned it upside down, I had to in order to make a “big top” type of awning on top.

The base of this card is Melon Mambo and then I layered a panel of Pacific Point. I then split into two parts, on one side, I used a piece of Newsprint designer paper and made it Old Olive and black (versus Very Vanilla and black) by using my brayer and Old Olive ink.

On the other side, I stamped two monsters from the Make a Monster stamp set and used my Aquapainter to colour them in with coordinating colours. I then made an outline of Sahara Sand and a base of Basic Gray. To cover the seam, I added a piece of Crushed Concord cardstock.

What did I do next? Well, I made the scalloped awning. I scalloped a Whisper White piece of cardstock and then added 1/8″ strips of Melon Mambo. I then scored at 1/2″ from the stop and tied on some 5/8″ Old Olive grosgrain.

I used the “wish big” sentiment from Word Play using my Stampin’ Write markers (Melon Mambo, Pacific Point, Old Olive, Basic Black). I mounted it on a piece of Pacific Point and added it on with a dimensional.

Lastly, I added a little detail using a Modern Label in Melon Mambo, a Word Window in Crushed Concord and an Itty Bitty Button tied with some Old Olive cardstock (backed in a Pacific Point circle).

Yes, it’s bright. Yes, it’s loud. Yes, it’s fun.

Hope you have a great day and thanks for stopping by!

Products used to make this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Whisper White (100730), Melon Mambo (115320), Pacific Point (111350), Old Olive (100702), Crushed Concord (119792).

Ink:  Melon Mambo (115656), Pacific Point (111837), Old Olive (102277), Crushed Concord (119785), Basic Black (101179) (ink pads and markers), Jet Black StazOn (101406).

Stamps: Make a Monster (120606), Word Play (120651).

Accessories: Scallop edge punch (119882), 5/8″ Old Olive grosgrain (109054), aquapainter (103954), brayer (102395), Itty Bitty Buttons (118761), Modern Label punch (119849), Word Window punch (119857), Newsprint Designer Paper (117166), Itty Bitty Shapes punch pack (118309).

7 thoughts on “Under the Big Top

  1. This is FABULOUS, Carrie! Love the awning and the bright colours. I should be getting this set tomorrow!

  2. I love it! I love that you used bright colours! lol The awning is just the cutest. Great job.

  3. This is a wonderful fun card! Checking out that Newsprint DSP is like reading the paper LOL!
    The background is perfect!
    Cynthia

  4. I LOVE how you brayered Old Olive over the Newsprint DSP! Super dynamic cute!

  5. Very cute! I really like your colors!

  6. This card is wicked awesome! Love the monsters!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

