Artistic Avenger

Happy Hybrid 4th of July

7 Comments

I am so thrilled to announce I have been chosen as a Design Team Member for Create with Connie and Mary! Yeah! I am so thrilled an honoured to have been chosen and here is my very first project for them – a 4th of July project!

Now here in Canada we don’t celebrate the 4th of July, however, I do live right on the border of Washington State and overlook the bay between White Rock and Semiahmoo so I have the privilege of watching the fireworks on the 4th. So that was the starting point of my card – fireworks.

That said, I have no fireworks stamps so I used the snowflakes from Snow Swirled – I think they make beautiful fireworks.

The size of this card is 3″ x 6″. The base is Tempting Turquoise and it is layered with Pacific Point and then Whisper White. The fireworks were stamped in Versamark and then heated with Heat and Stick powder. I then sprinkled them with Cosmo Fine Glitter and heated again.

Where do you watch fireworks? Most people watch them outside on a beautiful hill. So, I used Old Olive cardstock to make a hill and added a cute little girl with a balloon from All in the Family.

For the bottom tag, I realized that I had no stamps that would suit this occasion so I decided to use My Digital Studio to make my tag. It was so much fun! I mixed various designs from Calendar Basics in coordinating colours and printed it out. I then punched it out with my Wide Oval punch and adhered it to a Pacific Point tag cut out from the Lots of Tag Sizzlets.

A few little brads and voila! Happy 4th all my American Friends! Now make sure you head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and participate in this super fun challenge!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Whisper White, Tempting Turquoise, Pacific Point, Old Olive.

Ink: Old Olive, Tempting Turquoise, Pacific Point, Jet Black StazOn, Versamark.

Stamps: All in the Family, Snow Swirled.

Accessories: Heat and Stick Powder, Cosmo Fine Glitter, 5/8″ Old Olive grosgrain, linen thread, Sizzix Big Shot, Lots of Tags Sizzlet, Aquapainter, brads.

7 thoughts on “Happy Hybrid 4th of July

  1. Happy Canada day!
    Love the idea of the snowflakes as fireworks – it totally does work!

  2. What a GREAT idea using snowflakes for fireworks. Perfect

  3. Super cute and so clever!

  4. The snowflakes work really well! What a great idea! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Love the fireworks but what is that little girl doing up so late?

  6. Awesome way to improvise fireworks out of the stamps and supplies you have! Brilliant to use MDS for a greeting… Congrats on your FIRST Create with Connie and Mary Design Team post!

  7. Congrats on being part of Connie and Mary’s Design Team! Your work is wonderful – I am sure they are glad to have you on the team! And you have started off with a bang – I know – bad pun 🙂 Love the dimension and design of your card – and your frosty fireworks look great!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

