Artistic Avenger

Great Gift Cards

Leave a comment

Quite some time back, I ran a class on gift card holders. We all give them and yes, most stores give you some sort of holder, but isn’t it WAY more fun to make your own?

For this particular project, you insert the gift card and pull the strings, then the gift card slides out – fun, huh?

Usually I explain a project from the bottom up, but this time I am going to explain it from the top down!

I used the retiring stamp set, Best Wishes and More for the flower and stem. I first inked up the flower in Rose Red and the rocked it over my Rich Razzleberry ink pad for a two tone look. I then stamped the saying in Garden Green ink and added a leaf from the Birds & Blooms Sizzlet die in Garden Green. This piece is mounted on Garden Green cardstock.

Next, I made the holder itself. I used a 6 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ piece of Rich Razzleberry cardstock folded at 2″ and 4 1/2″. I added a 6 1/2″ x 2 1/4″ piece of textured Rose Red cardstock which I punched with the scallop edge punch. Both are adhered at the back with sticky strip.

For the ribbon pull mechanism, I used my Crop-A-Dile and punched a hole about 1″ from the top and threaded some Rose Red 1/4″ grosgrain.

Lastly, all you need to do is adhere it a piece of 2 3/4″ x 3 3/4″ Garden Green cardstock.

Products used to make this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Whisper White, Garden Green, Rich Razzleberry, Rose Red.

Ink: Rich Razzleberry, Rose Red, Garden Green.

Stamps: Best Wishes and More.

Accessories: Sizzix Big Shot, Birds & Blooms Sizzlets, Rose Red 1/4″ grosgrain, Scallop Edge Punch, Sticky Strip.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

