Artistic Avenger

Fantastic Father’s Day

7 Comments

For Father’s Day this past weekend, we got together with my Dad and made a very special breakfast, it was fantastic! And, so, to honour this extremely special man, I had to make a special card!

Again, those gals at Stamping 411 inspired me with their sketch. I really like their sketches as they are fairly simple in design. Some may think that sketches need to have a ton of elements, and certainly there are some that do that are awesome. What I like about the 411 sketches are they are basic in design but give you lots of room for interpretation.

For this card, I started with an Elegant Eggplant base. I then added a bunch of 3/4″ circles for texture and dimension on the card base.

The central horizontal panels are Daffodil Delight (new core colour, yummy!) and Bravo Burgundy. On the burgundy layer, I stamped the wine glasses from Cheers to You in coordinating ink and then did the direct to paper technique around the edges. Now the central diagonal panel is where I had some fun!

I started with a square of Old Olive and roughed up the edges. I then added a central Whisper White panel and stamped the “cheers to you” saying from Cheers to You in various coordinating colours and sponged it with Old Olive ink.

I knew I wanted big wine glasses and had an idea of how to do it, it was just the adhering I knew I’d have issue with.

Starting with a window sheet, I punched two wide ovals. These are the tops of the glasses. I cut the tops off the ovals. Then I backed with cut off wide ovals of Bravo Burgundy. The stems of the glasses are thinly cut window sheet and the bases are a cut off wide oval also.

For adhering, here is what I did:

  • The bases of the wine glasses are adhered to the stems with mini glue dots (and covered with the sentiment).
  • The “wine” is adhered to the glass with mini glue dots and covered with in one case the other wine glass and in the other, a tied taffeta knot.
  • The stems are attached to the top of the wine glass with mini glue dots and covered by the “wine”.

You need to be creative when working with clear products!

Lastly, for the sentiment, I first cut out a tag from the Lots of Tags sizzlets in Elegant Eggplant. I then punched out a Curly Label in Bravo Burgundy and cut the top and bottom off to adhere and match the line of the tag. I then stamped “happy father’s day” from Teeny Tiny Wishes and punched out with the Modern Label punch. I sponged the edges and added with some silver brads.

Thanks so much for stopping by and have a great day!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Elegant Eggplant, Bravo Burgundy, Old Olive, Daffodil Delight, Whisper White.

Ink: Old Olive, Bravo Burgundy, Elegant Eggplant.

Stamps: Cheers to You, Teeny Tiny Wishes.

Accessories: window sheets, wide oval punch, white taffeta ribbon, silver brads, 3/4″ circle punch, Modern Label punch, Curly Label punch, Sizzix Big Shot, Lots of Tags Sizzlets.

7 thoughts on “Fantastic Father’s Day

  1. Totally awesome, Carrie! I really love this card and all of its detail. Thanks also for all the great tips!! Have a wonderful day and Happy Stamping!!
    Kay

  2. WOW WOW WOW!!!! I love this card. My in-laws love their wine, I am going to have to CASE your amazing wine glasses for them one day 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. WOW….again you’ve knocked the sketch out of the park! I LOVE it! Thanks for the details on putting it all together, too! Great job with the Stamping 411 sketch this week!

  4. Such a clever idea – I LOVE it!!

  5. Carrie you are just TOO clever!!! Every week I can’t wait to see what you come up with next, and you never disappoint!! Another stunner!!

  6. WOW!!! Yep…that pretty much covers it! Another absolutely FABULOUS card!

  7. You are always so full of great ideas! This card is fabulous, and I love your choice of colours!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

