Artistic Avenger

Rockin’ Hip Hop

1 Comment

With everything ending soon as summer begins, I have to finish getting all my thank you cards done. This particular card is for my AWESOMELY super dance teacher, Cristina. She is uber-talented and a ton of fun. Don’t get me wrong, she can totally bust your chops but that makes us all better dancers…I think….

The card is a large one – 5 1/2 x 8 1/2 – as we needed room for all of us to sign it.

The base is Basic Gray and I layered it with Basic Black. On the upper portion, I took some Whisper White and stamped the Baroque Motifs swirl in Versamark. I sprinkled heat and stick powder on it and then silver glitter (I think it retired but I still have it).

On the seam of the Whisper White layer, I added a strip of Basic Gray satin ribbon (yummy!) and below I added an open scallop border. I first punched some Real Red cardstock with my 1 3/8″ circle punch and then around it with my 1 3/4″ circle punch. I also dotted the bottom with my white gel pen.

On the upper layer again, I wanted to use the skull from Just Jawing (this is retiring – boo hoo!). I first stamped it on Whisper White and cut it out. I cut the side bones and adhered them directly to the Real Red cardstock and then the face and added it with dimensionals.

I then added some Real Red chunky glitter to the heart eyes using my Tombow Multi Adhesive.

To finish it all off, I tied a bow of Basic Gray Satin ribbon and added a Star brad to the centre and on the upper left, I stamped “you rock” from Just Jawing in Basic Black and added a small Real Red star with a small Rhinestone brad in the centre.

This card was super fun to make and when you make something special with a certain person in mind, it makes it that much more special!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Basic Gray (#108692), Basic Black (#102851), Whisper White (#100730), Real Red (#102482).

Ink: Versamark (#102283), Basic Black (#101179).

Stamps: Just Jawing (#111660), Baroque Motifs (#113490).

Accessories: 1 3/8″ circle punch(#104401), 1 3/4″ circle punch (#112004), white gel pen (#105021), heat and stick powder (#100625), Real Red chunky glitter (#108797), Star Designer Brads (#112572), Basic Gray satin ribbon, clear rhinestone brads (#113144), small star punch (#109045).

One thought on “Rockin’ Hip Hop

  1. I love this card. I never really got into that stamp set, but love what you have done with it. I think the card would appeal to teens or grown ups. Twilight moms would love it…great colors and a little got to boot. So cute!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

