Artistic Avenger

Not-So-Bitty Buttons

6 Comments

I’m going to have to rush through this post today – between the copious amounts of dance rehearsals for my son, my daughter and myself this week and next and field trips galore – I just can’t seem to get a handle on things!

I based this card on the Stamping 411 sketch this week and wanted to use a couple of new items – the Itty Bitty Bits stamp set and the Itty Bitty Shapes Punches – both from the super Summer Mini Catalogue!

The base of this card is So Saffron and is layered with Chocolate Chip and Bordering Blue. The main layer has a bottom of Always Artichoke and a Whisper White top. I randomly stamped images from Itty Bitty Bits on this white layer but I stamped them all in half strength so they are quite subtle.

Now for the strips in the sketch. The first is Always Artichoke punched with the Scallop Trim punch. I then backed each scallop with a So Saffron scallop from the Itty Bitt Shapes punches. They fit just right! Next, I added a tie of 5/8″ Chocolate Chip grosgrain. Next, I cut a Top Note with my Sizzix Big Shot in Bordering Blue and trimmed it to fit. Notice how cool that button looks?

I cut out a square of Whisper White cardstock and on it adhered coordinating mini scallops. I then added a small strip of Chocolate Chip cardstock to act as a ribbon and adhered to the card.

To finish, I used a sentiment from In a Word and stamped it in Always Artichoke and then accentuated the word “us” by stamping it on Bordering Blue and punching out with a 1/2″ punch and then again on So Saffron and cutting out the brackets. I also paper pierced along the outside edge of the bottom (but only on two sides).

Hope I’m not missing something! Off to dance again!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Bordering Blue, So Saffron, Always Artichoke, Chocolate Chip, Whisper White.

Ink: Bordering Blue, So Saffron, Always Artichoke, Chocolate Chip.

Stamps: In a Word, Itty Bitty Bits.

Accessories: Sizzix Big Shot, Top Note Die, 5/8″ Chocolate Chip grosgrain, clear buttons, Scallop Trim punch, 1/2″ circle punch, paper piercer, mat pack.

6 thoughts on “Not-So-Bitty Buttons

  1. The way you’ve embellished this button ROCKS! I’ve always had trouble using those big buttons! LOVE the rest of the card too 🙂

  2. This button thing is awesome. I hope we see more of this…it’s fabulous!

  3. Could that button be any cooler? Wow! You are such an amazing stamper Carrie!

  4. Great use of color and I LOVE your button element – so stinkin’ clever!
    Can’t wait to see you at convention!

  5. The button is waaaaayyy cool!

  6. Now THAT is a clever way to use paper punches!! I have some of those clear buttons and never use them but this technique is definitely going to get me to use them. TFS

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

