Artistic Avenger

Check Mate!

9 Comments

Playing along with the Stamping 411 sketch this week, I decided to make a much needed card for a recently engaged couple (I think posting it here may ruin the surprise when it arrives in the mail…or may just cause excitement!). They are two super special people and deserve a congratulations card that suits them and is GLAMOROUS!

The base of this particular card is Basic Gray and I’ve layered it with Basic Black and then Sahara Sand. The Sahara Sand layer has been stamped in the upper right and lower left with the swirl from Elements of Style. I then sponged black around the edges.

The horizontal panel is Basic Black and I’ve layered it with a piece of Rich Razzleberry. I embossed the Medallion stamp in black on this layer for some depth and texture.

For the ribbon, I used some Rich Razzleberry Polka Dot grosgrain but used the back side. I added a strip of Sticky Strip and then added Chunky Black Glitter for a bit of glam factor!

For the central panel, I stamped the Medallion stamp in Sahara Sand on Whisper White cardstock. I roughed up the edges and tore one corner completely off. To the centre of the Medallion, I added a circle in Basic Gray made of two Round Tab punches and to the centre I added a 1 3/4″ circle. On this circle I embossed the chess piece from Game Night (retiring) with black embossing powder. I then stamped the dotted image from Extreme Elements overtop with Rich Razzleberry and then took a tissue and rubbed the ink – this takes it off the embossed image and gives a bit of a haze around the image itself.

To finish it off, I added a few little extras. First,  mini library clip to the circle – just ’cause. Then, I looped some ribbon and added it on with a Jumbo Brad, however,  I used some Tombow Multi adhesive and the same glitter to cover the brad so it matches the ribbon. And lastly, I used the Tiny Tags set and the Medium Jewelry Tag punch to add a little “love” tag onto the glammed-up brad.

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Basic Gray, Basic Black, Rich Razzleberry, Sahara Sand, Whisper White.

Ink: Basic Gray, Sahara Sand, Rich Razzleberry, Basic Black, Versamark.

Stamps: Tiny Tags, Extreme Elements, Elements of Style, Game Night (retiring).

Accessories: Round Tab Punch, 1 3/4″ Circle punch, Rich Razzleberry Polka Dot ribbon (retiring), black embossing powder, Jumbo Brads, Chunky Glitter, Tombo Multi Adhesive, sticky strip, mini library clips.

9 thoughts on “Check Mate!

  1. Wow! This is awesome. I love all your details and the use of the medallion stamp, Absolutely amazed by your work.
    Lesley

  2. Love the richness of the colors and the stylish feel of this!

  3. You never cease to amaze me with your talent. Every single one of your cards is gorgeous and I love waiting to see what you’re going to surprise us with next! Wonderful job Carrie!

  4. Another stunner!! Love that ribbon treatment (and everything else about this card!)…I look forward to your creation every week, thanks for continuing to amaze us!!

  5. Oooh, the ribbon tip is delightful. I love all the layering – it’s so rich and yummy!

  6. Amazing! Love what you have done with this

  7. Gorgeous card, as usual, Carrie! I love how you pulled in so many different images and made them all work together! Thanks so much for sharing and for playing along with the 411 Operators this week! Blessings, Gretchen

  8. Wooow… So utterly elegant. Anyone who be lucky to get this card!! 😀

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

