Artistic Avenger

Special Delivery

6 Comments

My cousin called me the other day and asked me to make something for her friend’s baby shower. Their idea was to have a number of various journalling squares for a scrapbook. The guests would all write a note of encouragement or a quote or something like that and the mom-to-be would have them ready when she decides to start scrapbooking.

I made the journalling squares and decided I needed a cute box for them to be in so this is what I came up with.

To make the box (which is made with So Saffron cardstock), start with a 11 x 8 piece of cardstock. Score in 1 1/2″ on all sides so you get a long rectangle with score lines all the way around. Then, putting the 8″ side in (so it is laying horizontally longways) score at 4 3/4″, 5 1/2″ and 6 1/4″. Fold in and assemble the box.

For the outside of the box, I used the clear scallop square die, however, I needed it to be bigger than it really is. So, I took a  5″ x 7″ piece of designer paper and folded it in half and laid it over the scallop die with the fold being on the second downward scallop like so….

So you’ll cut out two large scallops in designer paper and two in a stronger type of cardboard (I used the backing cardboard of the Grid Paper).

Now on to the decorating! I used the scallops #2 die and made a small bib in Very Vanilla and used Pretty in Pink and Close to Cocoa for accents. I also made a little ribbon pull for the opening of the box. I punched a small 1″ hole in the box itself. I then layered it with a ring of Pretty in Pink and added a small clear rhinestone brad and a piece of Very Vanilla taffeta ribbon.

Here are the journalling squares:

I hope this project goes well used and that the mom and baby to be are healthy and happy!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: So Saffron, Pretty in Pink, Very Vanilla, Close to Cocoa.

Ink: So Saffron, Pretty in Pink, Close to Cocoa.

Stamps: Nursery Necessities (retiring).

Accessories: Clear Scallop Square die, Sizzix Big Shot, So Saffron DSP, Large Star Punch, Very Vanilla taffeta ribbon, scallops #2 die, Modern Label punch, word window punch, 1″ circle punch, 1 1/4″ circle punch, clear rhinestone brads.

6 thoughts on “Special Delivery

  1. Are you KIDDING me??!?!?!? This is FABULOUS!!!!! I can’t even stand it…it is SO AMAZING and cute!!! LOVE-LOVE-LOVE it!!!!

  2. Don’t suppose you want to make a 2nd one for Miss Bond (preschool teacher). Her baby shower is next weekend and her favourite colour is yellow!!! Whaddy’a think?!!!

  3. Gorgeous box and journalling cards! This is such a fabulous idea!

  4. Your attention to detail is always stunning! What a beautiful gift! That’s one lucky mama!

  5. Wow Carrie nice box!!!!

  6. Love, Love your site

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

