Artistic Avenger

My Shiny Butterfly

6 Comments

The above card is the combination of two challenges – the Stamping 411 sketch and the Our Creative Corner Colour/Texture challenge.

I had the little metal butterfly hanging around from a past project but wanted to do something a little different to it so I decided I’d emboss it. Then, when I saw the OCC challenge was to use black and white, I thought, PERFECT!

The base of the card is Whisper White and I’ve layered it in Basic Black and then a layer of Bride Specialty Designer Paper. The central panel is Basic Black layered simply with Whisper White. I didn’t want to do too much to this layer as I really wanted the butterfly to stand out.

On the bottom half of this panel, I took a long strip of Whisper White cardstock and edged it with the Eyelet border punch. I then ran it through the crimper and ruffled it. I added a strip of 1/4″ Basic Black grosgrain to cover the seam.

The butterfly was rubbed A LOT with my embossing buddy first and then I used the set Fresh Cuts and silver embossing powder to emboss.  Then I added a clear rhinestone brad to the upper centre. I manipulated the ribbon ties inbehind to look like antennae.

Lastly, I added a sentiment on a piece of vellum cardstock. This saying is from the stamp set, Hope Happens. I stamped it in Jet Black StazOn and adhered to the card using two silver brads. I had smoothed the vellum over my bone folder a couple of times to give it the appearance of moving in the wind….although I don’t think you can see that in the picture!

Thanks for stopping by!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Whisper White, Basic Black, Vellum cardstock.

Ink: Jet Black StazOn, Versamark.

Stamps: Hope Happens, Fresh Cuts.

Accessories: Beautiful Butterflies Bigz Die, Sizzix Big Shot, 1/4″ Basic Black grosgrain, eyelet border punch, crimper, clear rhinestone brads, silver brads, Bride Specialty Designer Paper, silver embossing powder.

6 thoughts on “My Shiny Butterfly

  1. Holy crap!!! That button is STUNNING!!!! I NEED one like I need air!

    Thank-you so much for playing along with my challenge on the OCC this week!

  2. This is very pretty Carrie! I just love this!

  3. That butterfly is soooo cool! I think I need to give that a try asap…I love that it’s so shiny I can kind of see your reflection in it..I’m a huge fan of all things shiny & glittery!!

  4. So fabulous! I can’t believe how shiny! I need to try this too! You are one talented gal!!!!

  5. Wow…love the elegance of it! This is DARLING! Thanks for playing along with Stamping 411!

  6. Stop – you are overloading my mind with your fabulousness! Thanks for brightening our day with your creative endeavors!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

