Artistic Avenger

Grungey Greens

9 Comments

When I sat down to make this card, it initially was something COMPLETELY different. I had different colours and a very different plan. The only thing I had for sure was the sketch by Stamping 411 this week. I really wanted to participate in their momentous anniversary occasion!

What you may or may not notice here, is that I’ve used really minimal light coloured neutral. The panel that is behind the ribbon and the bird body are the other pieces of Very Vanilla on the card – everything else is either Certainly Celery or Basic Black. This is a great challenge for new stampers as when you get your starter kit initially there are few colours to play with. Get them dirty with images and sponging, you’ll be surprised at the variation of colour you can achieve.

The base for this card is Certainly Celery and then I added a layer of Basic Black. I used my corner rounder punch on a couple of the corners. The next layer is Certainly Celery also. I first used the Elegant Trio Decor Stencils and my Veramark pad. I dabbed it and then embossed with clear embossing powder. Next, I ran that same layer through my Big Shot with the square lattice folder and then I went to town sponging with Old Olive and Basic Black ink.

The central vertical panel is Basic Black and layered with Very Vanilla. On the vanilla piece, I stamped floral images from Best Wishes and More and Always. I used coordinating colours and sponged it A LOT! I then adhered the 5/8″ Basic Black grosgrain and a large clear rhinestone brad.

For the bird panel, I first stamped it in Versamark on the Certainly Celery piece. I then embossed just the feet with black embossing powder. I stamped the bird again with the Versamark on Very Vanilla cardstock and embossed it also with black embossing powder. I then cut it out and adhered with a dimensionals. In behind the bird you may notice a wing-like image. That is from Extreme Elements and it is also stamped in Versamark. Then, guess what I did? Sponged! and then added it to the card base.

I hummed and hawed about adding a sentiment but just couldn’t figure where I’d put it and I didn’t want it to take away from the look of the central panel so I decided I’d leave it non-sentimental.

Hope you enjoyed the card today!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Certainly Celery (#105125), Basic Black (#102851), Very Vanilla (#101530).

Ink: Basic Black (#101179), Certainly Celery (#105217), Old Olive (#102277), Versamark (#102283).

Stamps: Always (#113620), Extreme Elements (#115181), Best Wishes and More (#111602).

Accessories: Sizzix Big Shot (#113439), Square Lattice Folder (#119976), black embossing powder (#109133), 5/8″ Basic Black grosgrain (#115605), clear rhinestone brads (#113144),  corner rounder punch (#109047), Elegant Trio decor stencils (#118262), clear embossing powder (#109130), Stampin’ Sponges (#101610).

9 thoughts on “Grungey Greens

  1. Hi Carrie,

    I just LOVE your card! The colours are awesome. I clicked on your link at 411 and it took me back to 411. So I googled you to leave a comment on this card!!!

    Smiles,
    Lesley 😉

  2. Oh my word I think you have outdone yourself on this one Carrie, this card is phenomenal!!!! I keep going back to look at it again and each time I see another great detail I missed before!

  3. It is gorgeous! Love the greens!

  4. Great card Carrie. Loved the greens and black together!

  5. Carrie! This card is so amazing! I LOVE everything about it! You SO rocked this sketch, gf!

    Now, switching gears – how can I possibly thank you for your sweet phone call yesterday?! I am so bummed that I missed the opportunity to talk with you, I was out to lunch with my gf when you called.
    I cannot believe you called me all the way from Canada to say Happy Birthday! I’m so blessed to call you friend! Thanks so very, very much!
    xoxo,
    Robin

  6. Grunge never looked so good!

  7. There is just one word to describe your work Carrie, GORGEOUS!!!!!

    Thanks for playing along with us on our Anniversary week!

  8. Fabulous texture and depth of color………..GORGEOUS!!

  9. I love love love this card. Your creativity never ceases to amaze me. Great Work.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

