Artistic Avenger

To the Moon!

18 Comments

My son has a party to attend this upcoming weekend and I wanted to make a fun and cool card for the birthday boy. Now, I couldn’t let a Stamping 411 sketch go unused so I used that as my starting point.

The base of this card is Ballet Blue and I’ve layered it with Basic Gray and then Pumpkin Pie.

Next, I made a central panel of Basic Black. I used various circle punches to make little pinhole star holes and backed it with Bashful Blue cardstock. I then made a moon out of Basic Gray cardstock. I used the 3-Tier Cake die and my Sizzix Big Shot to cut the various sized holes and then used various circle punches to make the craters. I then sponged each layer with Basic Black ink and adhered together using dimensionals.

I stamped the rocket from Pun Fun with Jet Black Staz On on Confetti White cardstock and watercoloured it with coordinating colours. I then cut out the Swirl Sizzlet with some Sahara Sand cardstock as the jet stream and adhered behind the rocket.

So what else did I do? I added a layer of Green Galore cardstock. On the top, I used the Pinking Hearts border punch to get the jagged edge look. I adhered the rocket/moon layer to the Green Galore and then added a tie of Basic Black grosgrain.

At the top, I added two Summer Sun stars – one from the small star punch and the other from the Stars #2 Sizzix Die.

Lastly, I added a sentiment on the bottom. I punched it out on some Summer Sun cardstock with the Word Window punch. I then backed it with a small oval of Pumpkin Pie and then a Modern Label in Basic Gray.

Stop by in a day or so to see the gift packaging I made to go with this card!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Basic Gray, Bashful Blue, Pumpkin Pie, Green Galore, Ballet Blue, Confetti White, Sahara Sand.

Ink: Jet Black StazOn, Ballet Blue, Pumpkin Pie, Green Galore, Basic Gray.

Stamps: Pun Fun.

Accessories: 3-tier cake die, Swirl Sizzlet, various circle punches, Pinking Hearts border punch, aquapainter, Modern Label Punch, Word Window Punch, small oval punch, small star punch, Stars #2 die, Basic Black grosgrain ribbon.

18 thoughts on “To the Moon!

  1. You have outdone yourself once again. I love it!
    Elaine

  2. Ditto Elaine, but I have a question…how did you get the holes from punches so far into the centre of your pieces of papers??? I would LOVE that tip!

  3. Absolutely incredible! WOW! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Now that’s a WOW card. Love it!

  5. Oh my goodness. Wow is right ladies!!! My jaw is still on the floor. Thanks for sharing this great idea.

  6. What a fun card! Love the colours!

  7. Oh wow…I’m STUNNED! What an awesome card (AGAIN!), Carrie! Great job with the Stamping 411 sketch this week!

  8. Oh Man, Carrie! this is FABULOUS! I’ll bet the birthday boy went ga-ga over this! what fun and so creative! Thanks for playing along with the Stamping 411 Operators! Blessings, Gretchen

  9. When I checked the 411 site today I picked this out from the thumbnails as yours! (I love when I can do that!) It’s fabulous and then some! Wow what you can do with paper!

  10. wow wow WOW this is AWESOME!!! You have got some serious talent girl ๐Ÿ˜‰ You knock my socks off week after week!!

  11. congrats on being a top5 pick! Your card is out of this world LITERALLY!!!

  12. Like everything else you do, I love this! Congratulations on having your card chosen as one of the Top 5.

  13. OMGoodness .. you inspire .. LOVE the cards, LOVE your videos .. just LOVE.

  14. SUPER WOW – this is awesome! I love all the details, very creative!

  15. This is one of my favorite stamp sets and I just love that rocket. I used it for my son’s Wall-E birthday. What a creative card. I can’t wait to try it! Thanks for the inspiration!

  16. WHOAH!!!The details are AWESOME!!!You Totally Rock Girlfriend!!!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

