Artistic Avenger

Hot Dog!

8 Comments

With the end of the school year upon us, it is time to start making thank you cards for those ladies in school who made a difference. The above card was made for one of the two Hot Lunch Coordinators at our school.

I was inspired by the Mojo Monday sketch challenge this week and after making so many vintage-like cards lately, I thought I’d better get to making something fun and bold!

The base for this card is Kraft (or Crumb Cake). The upper panel is Basic Black and I layered it with a piece of Whisper White. On it I stamped the large splatter from Extreme Elements in Real Red (ketchup) and More Mustard (mustard). Gettin’ the lunch-like theme?

Next, I made a small tag for the centre. I ran a piece of More Mustard through the Sizzix Big Shot and the Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder and then layered it on a piece of Real Red. I tied a piece of 5/8″ Basic Black grosgrain around the splattered piece and added a big bow to the end of the tag. I then added a button tied with linen thread and a “thanks” from Thank You Kindly on Whisper White cardstock.

For the hot dog itself, I used my Word Window punch for the meat part – I used Dusty Durango and sponged it with Chocolate Chip ink. The bun is Creamy Caramel sponged with the same ink colour – this is cut out with the Word Window punch also but I re-inserted it into the punch to make is smaller. Then the ketchup and mustard is just Real Red and More Mustard cardstock which I ran through the Scallop Border punch and adhered inside. The packaging is just a Scallop Oval in Whisper White, folded and dimensionaled on. I then set it on a 1 3/4″ circle of Basic Black on which I also faux stitched with my white gel pen.

Lastly, I added a tag from the Two Tags Bigz Die in Basic Black. In the hole, I added a Build-A-Brad and put on it a 1/2″ circle of Real Red. I then stamped the cookie from One Smart Cookie (retired) in Basic Black on Creamy Caramel, cut it out and added with a dimensional. I also faux stitched the tag layer with my white gel pen.

I hope you enjoy this project!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Real Red (#102482), More Mustard (#100946), Whisper White (#100730), Basic Black (#102851), Creamy Caramel (#102514), Dusty Durango (#115321), Kraft (#102125).

Ink: Creamy Caramel (#103220), Real Red (#102133), More Mustard (#103162), Basic Black (#101179), Chocolate Chip (#100908).

Stamps: Extreme Elements (#115181), Thank You Kindly (#111700).

Accessories: 1 3/4″ circle punch (#112004), 5/8″ Basic Black grosgrain (#115605), linen thread (#104199), Earth Elements Buttons (retired), Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder (#117335), Two Tags Bigz Die (#115954), Build-a-Brad Antique Brass (#109108), 1/2″ Circle punch (#104390), Word Window Punch (#105090), Scallop Edge Punch (#112091), Scallop Oval Punch (#114889), Uni-Ball Signo White Gel pen (#105021).

8 thoughts on “Hot Dog!

  1. OMG, super creative! I love the splashes of mustard and ketchup in the background!! So bold and fun- love it!!

  2. Oh my goodness – how cool (or hot!!) is that … love the punch ideas…

  3. So cool! What a great card! Love that hot dog and the colors you used! Very nice!

  4. Like usual… wow!! Now I’m stressed about getting end of year gifts done for teachers etc….. AHHHHHH

  5. A word window wiener! Ingenious!! Love this–your use of the sketch, the colours and, of course, your hot dog.

  6. So clever! I love the ketchup and mustard color combo too.

  7. This is just the most FABULOUS card for the hot lunch lady! She will truly appreciate your thoughtfulness! The hot dog is SUPER CUTE and looks good enough to eat!!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

