Artistic Avenger

My Own Little Super Bowl Sunday

3 Comments

Okay, I think I need to explain this title a little…..I’ve been working on this card for quite some time. You see, I get an idea in my head and I just can’t let it go! I’ve just kept this project on my desk – doing a little bit here and there. I knew the feel I eventually wanted it to have but had some problems along the way getting to do look “just so”.  But, with the help of many people who’s opinions I asked for, it finally was completed. It totally was a team effort and I feel like I’ve just won the Super Bowl!

This is larger card too – 5 1/4″ x 8″ which gave me a bunch more space to play with. The base is Naturals Ivory and I’ve layered it with Bordering Blue. I then used a layer of Presto Patterns Designer Paper from the new Summer Mini and on it I smooshed my Creamy Caramel ink pad and then my Chocolate Chip ink pad to give it a mottled look. TIP: Don’t forgot to give a little rub with a tissue after inking up your Presto Patterns paper – it makes the white images really pop!

I had a Chocolate Chip Top Note cut out from a previous project and wanted to incorporate that within this card so I roughed up the edges and made it layer beneath the butterfly layer. For the ripped and torn Very Vanilla layer, I first inked up the large floral stamp from Elements of Style in Creamy Caramel, stamped off onto some scrap paper, and then onto the cardstock for a light look. I then used my Chocolate Chip ink to sponge in the Elegant Trio Decor Stencil. After adhering this layer onto the Top Note, it just felt a bit dull. So, thanks to my Delightful Dozen Club members, I added some Rose Red in behind it! Thanks Ladies for a wonderful idea!

Then the butterfly. I had cut this out of some sheet metal a while back and was just waiting to use it. So, I grabbed my Timber Brown Staz On (not a SU product, sorry!) and stamped one of the images from Elements of Style on the metal. I then added a flat edge Pretties pearl on with a mini glue dot.

Now there was just some extra embellishing to do. I added a bustle of Very Vanilla 5/8″ Grosgrain and a Button Latte button to the right. In the centre of the button, I added a clear rhinestone (which I removed from a clear rhinestone brad). I layered this all on a strip of Bordering Blue cardstock which I faux stitched using my paper piercer and mat pack and my Chocolate Chip marker.

For the sentiment, I used my Chocolate Chip marker and inked up the “happy birthday” from On Your Birthday. I cut it out “banner style” and layered it on a Creamy Caramel Modern Label and a Chocolate Chip tag which I cut out with my Sizzix Big Shot and the Lots of Tags Sizzlets. I finished it off with a small Rose Red button tied with some Linen Thread.

I am so very happy with this card – even though it has been in the works for a couple of weeks now! Thanks for stopping by and happy Sunday!

Products used to make this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Naturals Ivory, Bordering Blue, Rose Red, Chocolate Chip, Creamy Caramel, Very Vanilla.

Ink: Creamy Caramel, Chocolate Chip.

Stamps: Elements of Style, On Your Birthday.

Accessories: Sizzix Big Shot, Lots of Tags Sizzlet, Top Note Bigz Die, 5/8″ Very Vanilla Grosgrain, Presto Patterns DSP, Button Latte buttons, Clear Rhinestone brads, Pretties Kit, Linen thread, Fresh Favourites buttons, Elegant Trio Decor Stencil, paper piercer, mat pack, Chocolate Chip marker, Modern Label Punch, stampin’ sponges.

3 thoughts on “My Own Little Super Bowl Sunday

  1. Cute card…you know, I think SU should consider carrying more of the Staz-On colors, because a lot of them complement many SU colors…and Timber is one of my favs. Copics would be another idea…I know they have their markers, but Copics…enough said. Anyway, sheet metal, really? How did you do it…I am guessing the Big Shot? Just awesome. I would never think to cute sheet metal. Thanks for sharing your talent!

  2. I LOVE this card… has to be one of my favorites I have seen you show on here..

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

