Artistic Avenger

Dots, Dots and More Dots

11 Comments

I just realized it’s been a few days since posting – I’m so sorry! Well, I’m back with another fun card for you!

The inspiration for this card came from the Stamping 411 sketch. The colours, that was another deal altogether. I totally wasn’t sure where I wanted to start on this with colour but then I really looked at the sketch and remembered that I saw a piece of patterned something with stripes already – the Thoroughly Modern file folders!

So, I cut up a folder that had the small dots in Soft Suede and a solid Bermuda Bay line – a ha! Colour combination found!

The base of the card is Soft Suede and then I added another layer of Bermuda Bay and then Kraft. I ran the Kraft cardstock through the Sizzix Big Shot with the Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder and then sponged it with Soft Suede. I also rounded the lower corners of all three layers with my corner rounder punch.

To finish off the central panel, I did a few things. First I stamped “happy birthday” from All Holidays in Soft Suede ink on a strip of Soft Suede cardstock and then ran a strip of Bermuda Bay Polka Dotted Ribbon over the seam. I affixed it with a Star Designer Brad.

Above the ribbon, I added a chipboard “U” and the word “CELEBRATE” from a Little Birthday Cheer – which I stamped in Soft Suede ink on a scrap piece of Bermuda Bay cardstock. Lastly, where the sketch showed three dots on the upper right, I added a variation of circles and silver brads.

It really took me a while to finish off this card – I just wasn’t sure where I wanted to go with it. But that is the fun of being creative, isn’t it?

11 thoughts on “Dots, Dots and More Dots

  1. What a fun card Carrie… love the texture and the colors!!

  2. I love this! Love the colours, patterns and textures!

  3. Love, love, love this color combo! Great card. TFS!

  4. Very cool, Carrie! I love the embossed/sponged Kraft! Lots of fun & texture!

  5. Another WOW card! I love what you did with the sketch – all your details are fab, but I especially like the circles up top – so clever! Thanks for playing this week!

  6. Jaw dropping gorgeous! This is so beautiful!

  7. This is gorgeous and so cool. Love the colors.

  8. You always come up with the most clever ideas…love those circles! Every added detail just makes this card pop!

  9. Carrie, as usual your cards are SO well thought out with details! LOVE it! Thanks for playing along with Stamping 411 sketch this week.

  10. Carrie, you just blow me away!!! Each and every card you create just amazes me!!! You are one awesome creative crafty lady!!! Thanks for playing along this week over at Stamping 411!!

  11. Love your card Carrie! Congrats on being chosen by Stamping 411 for their Showcase!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

