Artistic Avenger

Listen to the Music

7 Comments

This week marked the end of my daughter’s Church Choir and they had a little get-together with a dinner and singing. I wanted to make a little something special for the choir director – she is just fantastic and works so hard with the kids.

The card evolved from two challenges – the Mojo Monday Sketch Challenge and the Caardvarks Monochromatic Challenge (even though I was too late to enter!). I wanted a vintage feel using music but don’t have any musical stamps – what to do? I photocopied some music onto some Very Vanilla cardstock and voila – it was perfect!

The base of this card is Very Vanilla. I layered it with a piece of Vellum cardstock and then a piece of Soft Suede. I stamped the floral image from Elements of Style and embossed it with clear embossing powder. I then sponged over the edges of this layer and over the embossed image itself.

For the long strip, I used a piece of Thoroughly Modern Designer Series paper in Soft Suede. On it, I added a row of 1 1/4″ squares which I punched out of the photocopied music. I crumpled and sponged them all and adhered them with dimensionals.

To dress it up even more, I added a large flower from the Pretties Kit. I rubbed it with Champagne Mist Shimmer paint and dried it with my heat tool. I then added a Soft Suede centre which I cut out using my Birds & Blooms Sizzlets and another smaller one in Thoroughly Modern Designer Series Paper. I also added a large hat pin for some extra texture and dimension. To finish the flower, I added a large flat vanilla pearl.

To finish off the card and keep true to the sketch, I added three pearls on the upper right and a little sentiment coming out of the flower. I used a sentiment from Thank You Kindly and it is stamped in Soft Suede on Very Vanilla cardstock.

Thanks for stopping by and just wait – you need to see what I made for her gift! I’ll post that in a day or so.

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW:

Cardstock: Very Vanilla, Soft Suede, Vellum Cardstock.

Ink: Versamark, Soft Suede.

Stamps: Elements of Style, Thank you Kindly.

Accessories: Pretties Kit, Shimmer Paint, Thoroughly Modern Designer Series Paper, Clear embossing powder, heat tool, stamping sponges, 1 1/4″ square punch.

7 thoughts on “Listen to the Music

  1. WOW! This is gorgeous! Just love the sparkle on the flower and the way you used the hat pin. TFS!
    Kay

  2. Great use of music….perfect for a CASE for my mother-in-law’s Mother’s Day card – thanks!!!! I really like the layout.

  3. love your card, Carrie! I’m not so fond of soft suede, but see more and more beautiful things made with it, maybe it will still grow on me!

  4. I found this page by coincidence, and I love it!
    Keep up your good work! Looking forward to your next great postings.

    Thanks.

  5. Musical squares! What a great idea. I also like the shimmer on the flower. All in all a very pretty card.

  6. Such a beautiful card. Love your creative take on the sketch!

  7. I’m so in love with that shimmery flower!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

