Artistic Avenger

Feelin’ Blue

9 Comments

For this card, I decided to play off a both a sketch and colour challenge – it is always more fun to do two challenges in one!

The sketch for this card came from Karen Giron’s Sunday Sketch and the colours from Pals Paper Arts Monochromatic Challenge.

The base for this card is Brocade Blue and I took another Brocade Blue layer and ran it through the Square Lattice embossing folder (which I’d brayered with Night of Navy first). I then roughed it up a wee bit and adhered it to the card.

For the focal panel – I embossed the Motorcycle with white embossing powder on Whisper White cardstock. I then sponged Night of Navy, Brocade Blue and Bashful Blue ink over it. I then ran a strip of Night of Navy cardstock and tore one end. I also added a bit of Bashful Blue grosgrain over it.

To keep the ribbon in place and for a bit of extra “somethin’ somethin” I added a jumbo Whisper White grommet with a Star Designer Brad in the centre. The sentiment is stamped in Night of Navy and is from All Holidays.

Oh, and just because I thought it’d be fun, I added a strip of Bashful Blue cardstock along the bottom which was punched with the Pinking Hearts Border punch.

Thanks for stopping by!

Products used for this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Brocade Blue, Night of Navy, Bashful Blue, Whisper White.

Ink: Brocade Blue, Night of Navy, Bashful Blue, Versamark.

Stamps: Motorcycle, All Holidays.

Accessories: Sizzix Big Shot, Square Lattice Folder, white embossing powder, Jumbo White Grommets, Star Designer Brads, Pinking Hearts Border punch, Sponge Daubers

9 thoughts on “Feelin’ Blue

  1. Love all the shades of blue and that motorcycle is fabulous embossed! Who would have thought I’d use motorcycle and embossed in the same sentence? But it works 🙂 Thanks for joining us at PPA!

  2. Cool card! You are so talented. I love all your cards and your attention to detail.

  3. I just LOVE your style! Another fabulous card and GREAT take on the sketch!

  4. Wow! What a fantastic card! I truly love your work! Thanks so much for playing at PPA!

  5. I LOVE this card! Thanks for sharing the how-to also!

  6. Wow, this card is amazing!! I love the blues and all of the fantastic details you’ve included in there – the inked embossing, the brad in the grommet, the emboss resist…

    Great card!!

  7. LOVE this card Carrie! The blue on blue is gorgeous and your details – as always – are amazing! Just fab!

  8. Awesome card Carrie. Love all that texture and distressing.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

