Artistic Avenger

In Honour of Women

11 Comments

May is Breast Cancer Awareness Month and I thought I’d start this month with the first of many pink cards to come this month. And, this may be one of the most special ones too.

I started with the idea of a dear friend who lost her Mother three years ago. What she does to honour her Mom is to buy a pair of new shoes (her Mom loved shoes!). With the anniversary of her Mom’s passing being tomorrow, I thought I’d make a special card for one of the most special women I know.

The sketch idea for this card came from the Stamping 411 sketch this week and the colours are pink – all different shades.

The base of the card is Rose Red and I layered it with Pretty in Pink and then Whisper White. The panel in the upper 2/3rds is Rose Red and I layered with some Presto Patterns Designer paper. I used my sponge daubers and Pretty In Pink and Rose Red Classic Stampin’ Pads. Because no card is complete without ribbon, I added a strip of 5/8″ Regal Rose grosgrain.

I inked up the Ribbon of Hope stamp in Pretty in Pink ink and stamped it on Whisper White cardstock. I then used my Rose Red marker and coloured the word “hope” from Hope Happens and stamped it on the ribbon. I then distressed the edges and mounted it on Rose Red cardstock.

I then added an ampersand of chipboard which I inked up with Rose Red craft ink. I then stamped the “new shoes” image from Things I Love in Regal Rose. I punched it out with the 1 1/4″ circle punch and then layered it on a 1 3/8″ Rose Red circle.

To finish it off, I stamped the “remember” stamp from Define Your Life in Pretty in Pink on the bottom of the Whisper White layer and then again in Rose Red on some scrap. I cut out the word “remember” and adhered over with dimensionals.

Now, to honour two more women – the winners of my sketch challenge! I had some great entries and have been able to honour two of you with FREE passes to UStamp with Dawn and Friends.

The winners are…..

Erica Cerwin

and….

Mary Jo Price-Williams

You will both receive information directly from the UStamp gals – CONGRATULATIONS! And thanks so much for playing!

11 thoughts on “In Honour of Women

  1. Yay! Yay! Yay!!! thanks so much Carrie!!!

  2. Thank you so much! I am excited and honored. It was a great sketch that I will use again and again.
    .

  3. Beautiful card and sentiment!

  4. These cards are beautiful! What a wonderful tribute to your friends mother with her card to remember her anniversary!
    Thanks to all three of you for sharing these with us.
    Happy May ~

  5. Wow!!! Great story behind the pink card. I love it!!! Thanks also for sharing the other cards as well. What a treat, like triple bonus time here at your blog. Sweet!

  6. What a wonderful tribute to your friend’s mother!!! The card is beautiful….as always!!!

    Thanks for playing along with the Stamping 411.

  7. LOVE the first card especially! I may have to do something like this!

  8. Beautiful card! I love to hear a wonderful story to go along with a card. And this one is precious. What a fun way to remember her mother, with a new pair of shoes! TFS!

  9. This card is beautiful. I love the way you’ve customized it to be so special for your friend. Great job as always 🙂

  10. Great job, Carrie…like usual your cards blow me away. What a sweet message for your friend.

  11. WOW!!! This card is beautiful!! Love all the different shades of pink you used!! Great job and thanks for playing along with us!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

