Artistic Avenger

Va Va Varoom! and a Milestone!

4 Comments

Yeah, it’s May! Now that these products are available, I’d love to share with you all a great card I made for a swap group I belong to – Go Divas. I received an invite a while back from Robin Merriman asking if I’d like to join in. I don’t do many swap groups as it can take a lot of work but I did the swap for the Occasions Mini catalogue and LOVED every single one so I was hooked.

The card above was made with awesome new items from the Summer Mini Catalogue – take a look, it is AMAZING! Also with the upcoming Colour Renovation, I wanted to make a card that used colours that would be continuing so that is where I started.

The base, of course, is Basic Black and then I layered it with Old Olive. I stamped the swirl image from Baroque Motifs first in Old Olive ink and then again, just slightly over, in Whisper White craft ink. I then took my Old Olive ink pad and rubbed it over the layer for a dirty sueded look.

Next, I used the Square Lattice embossing folder – LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS! I ran through the layer of Tempting Turquoise cardstock and then distressed it by tearing and rolling and sponging with Basic Black ink. What I like most about this folder is that you get so much pattern that it almost makes the paper feel like fabric.

Now for the motorcycle – here is where I wanted to inject some colour. I used my Two Big Tagz Bigz die and my Sizzix Big Shot to get the pieces to make this layer. First I ran it through with More Mustard cardstock and cut the bottom flap off (the piece without the hole for the ribbon) and then I ran a piece of Soft Suede through and cut out the centre of the top flap (where the ribbon hole is). I then slid the More Mustard layer in the slot where you’d close the tag if you were using the tags as they are supposed to be used and added some 5/8″ Basic Black grosgrain to tie it all together and a little mini library clip for good measure. Make sense?

For the More Mustard piece, I embossed the Motorcycle stamp with black embossing powder and then took a sponge dauber and rubbed Pumpkin Pie ink over it to “warm” up the centre of the image and make it stand out a bit more.

To finish it all off, I stamped the sentiment from Elements of Style in Basic Black ink on some scrap Soft Suede cardstock. I then stamped it again, a little off to one side, in Whisper White ink. I punched it out with the large oval punch and adhered it to a Basic Black scallop oval punch. I also added dots of white gel pen on the scallop oval piece.

Hope you like it and I thank you all for stopping by!

Now for my milestone! I’ve just seen that my blog meter has gone past 300,000 hits! THANK YOU! I’ll have some great candy coming up very soon to thank you all for your support!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Tempting Turquoise, Basic Black, More Mustard, Old Olive, Soft Suede.

Ink: Pumpkin Pie, Old Olive, Whisper White, Basic Black, Versamark.

Stamps: Baroque Motifs, Motorcycle, Elements of Style.

Accessories: mini library clips, 5/8″ Basic Black grosgrain, Two Big Tagz Bigz die, Sizzix Big Shot, black embossing powder, heat tool, large oval punch, scallop oval punch, stampin’ sponges, white gel pen, sponge daubers, square lattice embossing folder.

4 thoughts on “Va Va Varoom! and a Milestone!

  1. Gorgeous! I love the motorcycle image…

  2. Wow, congrats on the milestone!! That is wonderful! Sounds like a great swap group, I’m sure they will appreciate your card, it’s wonderful!

  3. Congrats!!! Wow!!! I thought I was going well at 81,000!!! Super achievement, Carrie! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and taking the time to say hi! Hope you have a great week! Hugs, Andrea xxx

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

