Artistic Avenger

Ridiculously Fun Rub-Ons

Leave a comment

I love to search out different challenge blogs and I was thrilled when I stumbled upon Jen’s blog and her great “Sketch for You To Try”. I was super inspired by her latest sketch and thought I’d grab a product that will be leaving us soon with the exit of the Occasions Mini Catalogue – Chat Room Rub Ons. I always purchase rub ons and just hate to use them so I decided I was going to use them a lot on this project!

The base of this card is Sage Shadow and I’ve layered it with some Basic Gray cardstock and then Whisper White. I’ve totally taken the colours from the Nouveau Chic designer paper – I just love that paper!

For the central panel, I layered Basic Gray and then Apricot Appeal. I then ran a strip of the Nouveau Chic designer paper down the centre, folded the top down and then added two Vintage Brads.

Under that fold I added my rub on panel. I used the Chat Room rub ons in Whisper White and added them to a sheet of Basic Gray cardstock. It was at this point I realized that I needed a horizontal panel as well. Shoot. What was I going to do? I really liked the clean look of this card and didn’t want to mess it up!! So, I added a horizontal panel of Whisper White cardstock which I’d run through my Sizzix Big Shot with the Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder.

To finish the whole thing off, I added a bracket from the Hearts & Brackets Sizzix die in Sage Shadow and a few extra embellishments: a button from  Button Latte, an Apricot Appeal button (both buttons are tied with a thin strip of Basic Gray) and a Build-A-Brad. In the brad, I added a star in Sage Shadow from Holiday Blitz punched out with the 1/2″ circle punch.

And there you have it!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy then now!

Cardstock: Whisper White, Sage Shadow, Apricot Appeal, Basic Gray.

Ink: Sage Shadow

Stamps: Holiday Blitz

Accessories: Nouveau Chic Designer Series paper, Vintage Brads, paper piercer, mat pack, Button Latte, Build-A-Brad, 1/2″ circle punch, Hearts & Brackets Sizzix Die, Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder, Chat Room rub ons.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

