Artistic Avenger

Bouquets-a-Plenty

5 Comments

I love making cards that are special to the individual – that really is what keeps me crafting, the personalization that making your own cards affords you!

You may notice a little something strange about this bouquet – the stems of the flowers are tool handles. Yes, that was done on purpose! I was making this card for a couple where the wife loves the garden and the hubby is a handyman.

The starting point for this project was the Stamping 411 sketch this week.

Starting with a Naturals Ivory card base, I layered it with Chocolate Chip cardstock on which I stamped the Woodgrain background in Basic Black ink.

Next, I cut a Top Note out with my Sizzix in Soft Suede and ran it through with the Lattice embossing folder (coming soon in the Summer Mini!). I then cut off part of it and added the small square piece as per the sketch. On it, I used various flowers from the Three for You and Boho Blossoms punches, added a few Vintage brads and sponged all the flowers with Soft Suede ink.

For the stems, I stamped three images from Totally Tool and coloured them in. I then mounted them inbehind the flowers with dimensionals and added a knot of Chocolate Chip taffeta ribbon for good measure. I also added some Old Olive leaves cut out with the Little Leaves sizzlet.

For the bottom of the card, I layered a piece of Ruby Red cardstock (sponged with Soft Suede) and a strip of 5/8″ Real Red grosgrain.

I then added a Chat Room rub on and did some paper piercing. I also added a 1/2″ circle of Chocolate Chip cardstock and a jumbo brad.

Thanks for stopping by today and don’t be afraid to mix and match your stamp sets!

5 thoughts on “Bouquets-a-Plenty

  1. This card is so well done. Love everything about it.
    Thanks for sharing your talents once again.

  2. This is totally tool cool!! Another awesome card!

  3. Carrie – OMG how cute is that! Love the tool handles and the flowers together. And I love the look of this new embossing folder – mine was on backorder – the rest of my order came yesterday – I hope it gets here soon. The mini does not make it look like it does when I see it on a card.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Monika Davis

  4. Carrie…I just love your inspiration! What a great personalized card for your friends!

  5. Fabulous! I love how you combined the interests of the couple and found a way to make it work on this card!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

