Artistic Avenger

It’s BBQ Season!

3 Comments

We all have favourite cards. I have had this specific card by Connie Babbert in my SCS gallery for longer than I can remember. I’ve been wanting to CASE it but don’t like to do that too often. However, we were invited to a friend’s BBQ a while back and I thought I’d knock one of these off as I was running out the door!

The base for this card is Whisper White and I layered it with Kraft (soon to be Crumb Cake!).

Along the bottom is  a strip of Old Olive cardstock. I punched it with the scallop edge punch once and then ran it through again punching just a bit off each scallop for the grass.

For the BBQ I cut two narrow strips of Basic Gray cardstock. I finished the bottoms off with a 1/2″ and 1/4″ circle. I added a silver brad to the centre of the 1/2″ circle.

I punched out a 1 3/4″ circle in Real Red and cut it in half. I added a silver brad where they overlap so it could open and close and then I used my  white gel pen to make marks around the outside.

For the BBQ “smoke”, I used the Elements of Style stamp set and stamped it in versamark.

Lastly, I wanted to make it easy to adhere this to a bottle of wine so I punched a 1 3/8″ circle through the entire card and then added a bow of Real Red gingham ribbon and a sentiment in Basic Black from the Thank You Kindly stamp set. So, I just signed the card and put it over the top of the wine bottle and VOILA!

Best of the BBQ season to you all!

Products used on this project – CLICK HERE to buy them NOW!

Cardstock: Whisper White, Real Red, Kraft, Basic Black, Basic Gray.

Ink: Basic Black, Versamark.

Stamps: Elements of Style (coming soon in the Summer Mini), Thank You Kindly.

Accessories: 1 3/4″ circle punch, 1 3/8″ circle punch, 1/2″ circle punch, 1/4″ circle punch, white gel pen, silver brads, scallop edge punch, Real Red gingham ribbon.

3 thoughts on “It’s BBQ Season!

  1. omg, you are so clever with your punches! i mean it, double punching to make the grass! sooo cute!

    dreaming in wasabi, l.

  2. LOVE this! Everything about it…great job! 🙂

  3. Wow, Carrie! I’m honored that you liked my punch grill! I love your take on it!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

